Vegetarian Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This dish was acceptable, however I probably won't make it again. I love both vegetarian food and Indian spices, but I thought the flavor of curry powder was overwhelming and a little one dimensional. It would have been helpful for the recipe author to specify the blend of spices in her curry powder. Perhaps my blend didn't suit the recipe and that's why I didn't care for it. That said, it was easy to prepare and I liked the consistency. If I did make it again, I would probably stir some sour cream and chopped cilantro into the vegetable mixture to add another dimension to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suavehouse113

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
i LOVED this dish... i used 2 C eggplant and 1 C zucchini, as well as 2 fresh tomatoes diced rather than canned... very VERY good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
ive never rated a recipe before altho ive tried many. ive been vegetarian for 25yrs and i can honestly say that this was BRILLIANT!I didnt give 5stars because i changed it slightly. i used 2chopped fresh tomatoes instead of the stated and added a small can of baked beans in tomato sauce instead. it was EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Made some adjustments, in part based on what I had on hand. Used zucchini and mushrooms instead of eggplant and bell pepper. Subbed veg. broth in place of the water, and added some salt and pepper to the vegetable mixture as it cooked. Used some leftover mashed potatoes I had in the freezer (made with russet potatoes, half and half, butter, salt and pepper--a recipe from Cook's Illustrated). I wondered if I had to cook the frozen peas before mixing them in with the mashed pototoes, but turned out I didn't--just mixed them in frozen and they came out fine. I mixed the parmesan cheese in with the potatoes and peas, and kept the whole thing in the oven about an extra 10 minutes--didn't do the broiler step. It was yummy. It does have an Indian taste, though, as another reviewer pointed out, and that might not be for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This was great! I'm slowly introducing my husband to vegetarian cooking, & this was one of the recipes he liked enough to stop complaining about the lack of meat. We used zucchini instead of eggplant, but otherwise left it unchanged & it was very tasty. It also made a huge batch-- we were eating leftovers for a while. Will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This was really good and a definite keeper! I added a bit of zuchinni but otherwise followed the recipe for the most part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
This was really tasty! I added some zucchini and mushrooms to the veggie mix and just used a slightly bigger pan. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
This recipe could have been good but it was lacking in some areas. The egplant/veggie mix didn't have much flavor and what flavor it did have, in our opinion, wasn't right for the dish. But a vegetarian might enjoy this dish more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
We liked it and will make it again- feel free to add a few other veggies if you want- corn, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
i think the name shepard's pie is a little deceiving, this is a great dish! it's more like an indian casserole? curried vegetables with a deconstructed samosa on top (ie. potatoes and peas)! my husband and i loved this dish! and i will definitely make it again. i followed the recipe to the letter and i wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States