Vegetarian Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
This recipe is time consuming, uses several pots and pans, but was well worth the trouble. I modified this recipe a bit by 1) adding chopped broccoli and zucchini to the mix, doubling the dry spices to accommodate the extra veggies, 2) adding some 2tsps chili spice and 2tbsp parsley, 3) using fat-free chicken broth rather than water (this works for us since we are not vegetarians), and 4) mixing in 1/4c of parmesan cheese into the mashed potato mixture. I also sprayed the baking dish lightly with Pam and baked for 30 minutes before browning. It rocked, my family loved it, and it tasted even better as leftovers for my workday lunch the following day! Give it a shot if you have the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shinjuku, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luv2cook
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Very Tasty Recipe, I never made a vegetarian shepherd pie, just your normal with meat. I think I'll try it with some mushrooms next and other things. Will take picture next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Made some adjustments, in part based on what I had on hand. Used zucchini and mushrooms instead of eggplant and bell pepper. Subbed veg. broth in place of the water, and added some salt and pepper to the vegetable mixture as it cooked. Used some leftover mashed potatoes I had in the freezer (made with russet potatoes, half and half, butter, salt and pepper--a recipe from Cook's Illustrated). I wondered if I had to cook the frozen peas before mixing them in with the mashed pototoes, but turned out I didn't--just mixed them in frozen and they came out fine. I mixed the parmesan cheese in with the potatoes and peas, and kept the whole thing in the oven about an extra 10 minutes--didn't do the broiler step. It was yummy. It does have an Indian taste, though, as another reviewer pointed out, and that might not be for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
ive never rated a recipe before altho ive tried many. ive been vegetarian for 25yrs and i can honestly say that this was BRILLIANT!I didnt give 5stars because i changed it slightly. i used 2chopped fresh tomatoes instead of the stated and added a small can of baked beans in tomato sauce instead. it was EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I loved this recipe...my family hated it! It is hardly and has great flavor. I will make it again for myself!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This dish was acceptable, however I probably won't make it again. I love both vegetarian food and Indian spices, but I thought the flavor of curry powder was overwhelming and a little one dimensional. It would have been helpful for the recipe author to specify the blend of spices in her curry powder. Perhaps my blend didn't suit the recipe and that's why I didn't care for it. That said, it was easy to prepare and I liked the consistency. If I did make it again, I would probably stir some sour cream and chopped cilantro into the vegetable mixture to add another dimension to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suavehouse113

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Delicious! I used zucchini and some leftover mashed potatoes from Christmas dinner. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallard S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neponset, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
i LOVED this dish... i used 2 C eggplant and 1 C zucchini, as well as 2 fresh tomatoes diced rather than canned... very VERY good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This was great! I'm slowly introducing my husband to vegetarian cooking, & this was one of the recipes he liked enough to stop complaining about the lack of meat. We used zucchini instead of eggplant, but otherwise left it unchanged & it was very tasty. It also made a huge batch-- we were eating leftovers for a while. Will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
Very easy to prepare, delicious with a bit of a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doula Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States