Vegetarian Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by luv2cook
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Very Tasty Recipe, I never made a vegetarian shepherd pie, just your normal with meat. I think I'll try it with some mushrooms next and other things. Will take picture next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
Very easy to prepare, delicious with a bit of a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doula Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
This recipe is time consuming, uses several pots and pans, but was well worth the trouble. I modified this recipe a bit by 1) adding chopped broccoli and zucchini to the mix, doubling the dry spices to accommodate the extra veggies, 2) adding some 2tsps chili spice and 2tbsp parsley, 3) using fat-free chicken broth rather than water (this works for us since we are not vegetarians), and 4) mixing in 1/4c of parmesan cheese into the mashed potato mixture. I also sprayed the baking dish lightly with Pam and baked for 30 minutes before browning. It rocked, my family loved it, and it tasted even better as leftovers for my workday lunch the following day! Give it a shot if you have the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shinjuku, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I loved this recipe...my family hated it! It is hardly and has great flavor. I will make it again for myself!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Bump up the spices and it's fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Loved this recipe. Even better the next day. We added extra garlic and added some feta on top. Will definetely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone that tried it loved it and some even asked for the recipe. It came out very well and is easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
i think the name shepard's pie is a little deceiving, this is a great dish! it's more like an indian casserole? curried vegetables with a deconstructed samosa on top (ie. potatoes and peas)! my husband and i loved this dish! and i will definitely make it again. i followed the recipe to the letter and i wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
We liked it and will make it again- feel free to add a few other veggies if you want- corn, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
This recipe could have been good but it was lacking in some areas. The egplant/veggie mix didn't have much flavor and what flavor it did have, in our opinion, wasn't right for the dish. But a vegetarian might enjoy this dish more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States