Vegetarian Shepherd's Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2006
I couldn't get over how good this was. I couldn't get the yeast spread either, but I mixed a little warm water with dry yeast and then measured out the right amount. I also substituted 2 yams and 1 red potato for the topping. I also added a little water after the lental/ barley mixture had cooked for a bit. Thanks for wonderful veg dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Very good and simple. I took the advice of others and cooked lentils/barley for 15 then added carrots and onions to the same pot. Came out great. Also added a bay leaf and oregeno to the lentil mixture and cheese between the mixture and mashed pots. My husband had 3 helpings! Note: if you have a family that likes large servings then double the recipe amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
We have updated this recipe to clarify the yeast extract spread ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
This was really good! I added garlic, and whirled the carrots, walnuts, onions, and garlic in the food processor (rather than chopping/shredding). Added a little extra water and flour for more gravy. We are definitely adding it to our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
Excellent Recipe. I didn't have any yeast extract spread, so I substituted nutritional yeast flakes (about 1/4 cup) and it had the same effect. Also, I'm not vegan, so I mashed the potatoes with milk and a little butter to add flavor, and topped with about 1/2 cup shredded cheddar/jack cheese to make a bubbly mess. Also, I added a bunch of frozen green beans to the mix to get more veggies in there. My family (including two kids - 4 and 2) LOVED this, and my husband asked me when I was going to make it again. I served it with oven roasted broccoli (broccoli, olive oil and a little salt put in the oven at 450 for about 15 minutes.) Yum, Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EFINTON
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This recipe has great potential with a little doctoring. I added celery and wished afterwards that I had also put in some garlic and herbs. It does require a lot of pots, but is pretty simple to put together. More vegetable broth was needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EFINTON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This recipe turned out surprisingly flavourful. I did make a few alterations though. First, I doubled it because it is soooo good and you'll want the leftovers. Then, I added 2 tsp. of garlic to the veggie broth/lentil/barley mixture. In addition on successive attempts, I added tofu on the bottom, then spinach and mushrooms on top, and then the lentil mixture with some frozen mixed veggies stirred in. I omitted the nuts and doubled the mashed potatoes to make a yummy "crust". But each to their own! Thanks Ron for a great recipe that I will always treasure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbtvs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This was an excellent recipe, thank you! The walnuts, lentils and barley created a very delicious hearty flavor. I added some frozen peas and would suggest an additional carrot. I didn't have the yeast spread so I used a packet of dried yeast (prepared as directed) and seemed to work fine. This is a great dish to customize with your own favorite veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
Even my husband who loves meat liked this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This is a winner!! It is a vegetarian comfort food. The only change that I made was to leave out the walnuts (not fond of walnuts). Other than that, follow the recipe and get ready for a delicious, warm, yummy meal that really hits the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ProLifeGoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States