Vegetarian Shepherd's Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 17, 2006
We have updated this recipe to clarify the yeast extract spread ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
I couldn't get over how good this was. I couldn't get the yeast spread either, but I mixed a little warm water with dry yeast and then measured out the right amount. I also substituted 2 yams and 1 red potato for the topping. I also added a little water after the lental/ barley mixture had cooked for a bit. Thanks for wonderful veg dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This is a winner!! It is a vegetarian comfort food. The only change that I made was to leave out the walnuts (not fond of walnuts). Other than that, follow the recipe and get ready for a delicious, warm, yummy meal that really hits the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ProLifeGoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
Even my husband who loves meat liked this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EFINTON
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This recipe has great potential with a little doctoring. I added celery and wished afterwards that I had also put in some garlic and herbs. It does require a lot of pots, but is pretty simple to put together. More vegetable broth was needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EFINTON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This was an excellent recipe, thank you! The walnuts, lentils and barley created a very delicious hearty flavor. I added some frozen peas and would suggest an additional carrot. I didn't have the yeast spread so I used a packet of dried yeast (prepared as directed) and seemed to work fine. This is a great dish to customize with your own favorite veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
Excellent Recipe. I didn't have any yeast extract spread, so I substituted nutritional yeast flakes (about 1/4 cup) and it had the same effect. Also, I'm not vegan, so I mashed the potatoes with milk and a little butter to add flavor, and topped with about 1/2 cup shredded cheddar/jack cheese to make a bubbly mess. Also, I added a bunch of frozen green beans to the mix to get more veggies in there. My family (including two kids - 4 and 2) LOVED this, and my husband asked me when I was going to make it again. I served it with oven roasted broccoli (broccoli, olive oil and a little salt put in the oven at 450 for about 15 minutes.) Yum, Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
This was good, but not as good as I had expected. I added some mushrooms but I think that was a mistake - the texture seemed out of place with the rest. Also, I don't understand the need to cook the carrots, onions and walnuts separately, instead of just adding them to the lentils and barley after fifteen minutes. That's what I did and everything cooked perfectly. I don't really like cooked carrots, though, so next time I might try using zucchini instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
The mixture has a great texture. I substituted buckwheat (kasha) for the barley and added frozen green beans, along with some vegetarian brown gravy mix. Oh, and shredded cheddar cheese on top of the potatoes. Absolutely delish! I'm so glad I found this recipe. Thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
Instead of two 'cups' of vegetable broth, use two 14-oz 'cans' and follow the recipe accordingly. (Substitute the word 'cans' for 'cups') Otherwise it is dreadfully dry and the legumes barely cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States