Vegetarian Shepherd's Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
mmmm, so yummy!! The vegemite really seems to make all the difference!! Howvever, I included a few modifications; substituted the walnuts for SUNFLOWER SEEDS- the texture went really well with the barley!! Also, way too little water in the recipe, added about another cup and a half. I also put cheese in between potato/ grain layers like others suggested. Will definately be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Really enjoyed this. I used miso instead of the vegemite and it turned out fine. It's really delicious - but yeah, I'd double it next time I think considering it's only 186 calories per serving. Great vegan shepherd's pie, though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This was SO GOOD!! Thank you for this wonderful recipe. I am trying to go vegetarian and this will help. Even my carnivorous family liked it (including two teenage boys). You need more veggie broth than this recipe calls for. I used two cans. I couldn't find any vegemite, so I used yeast mixed with water and that seemed fine. I also took the advice of another reviewer and cooked the onion and carrots with the lentils and barley. And, I put a thin layer of cheese between the potatoes and the veggie layer. I used more potatoes than called for as well. I just seasoned it with salt and lots of freshly ground black pepper and it was perfect. That lets the flavors of the ingredients come out and it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA6
Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Yum yum! I made with rice instead of barley because I was out. Next time will try with the barley- definitely a keeper. I love the flavor that the Marmite added (I never would have thought of that). Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This ended up being a very bland recipe. I've always been vegetarian and have never tried a meat shepherd's pie (or any other one) before, but even my husband who's had shepard's pie hated this one. Needed more flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
This is now a staple recipe at my place. Friends and co-workers like it, meat eaters included. i've never made it without someone genuinely wanting the recipe, though i do it without walnuts because I don't like them and I use my favourite mashed potato recipe for the topping which includes cream cheese and butter if i'm feeling indulgent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by roxanapeace
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I like it! My bf wanted to make some toast and we all agreed a steak would be nice alongside, but I really enjoyed this! Thank you! I did have to add a dollop of butter to go with those spuds, but other than that (and the prepackaged potatos) this was a healthy and easy dish that I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxanapeace

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baker, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This was just ok, the potatoes on top were skimpy, and the filling took too many pots to make. May try it again with more mashed potatoes, and streamlined directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Very good and simple. I took the advice of others and cooked lentils/barley for 15 then added carrots and onions to the same pot. Came out great. Also added a bay leaf and oregeno to the lentil mixture and cheese between the mixture and mashed pots. My husband had 3 helpings! Note: if you have a family that likes large servings then double the recipe amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
We have updated this recipe to clarify the yeast extract spread ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States