Vegetarian Shepherd's Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Absolutely amazing. Changes: celery instead of walnuts, yeast flakes instead of vegemite, used some potato water in the barley/lentil/veggie mix (with broth concentrate), cooked barley for 10 min before adding lentils (I don't recommend this!), and I took others suggestions to use 3 pans. I've officially decided I'm going to always make extra mashed potatoes so I can make this afterward (and only have to use 2 pots!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRIGREM

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I got oodles of compliments after cooking this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving,and it was great.Everyone enjoyed it and I cant wait to make it again. This is a great vegetarian dish for the cold winter months. I did make a few changes. I didn't use walnuts, I added quite a bit of extra broth to the lentils and barley mixture, I used shallots instead of onion, and I also added butter and milk to the mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Pie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This was surprisingly good! My husband (a definite meat lover) really loved it! I used more broth (just kept adding more as needed). I added the onion and carrot to the barley/lentil pot because I hate doing dishes. I added about 3 cloves of coarsely chopped garlic, I also doubled the vegemite! Came out perfect! So delicious -- thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This recipe is terrible. I followed the instructions almost exactly, the only thing i did differently was i used boullion instead of yeast extract. I also added a cup of water into the barley/lentil mixture before putting it in the oven because I was worried it would have been too dry. I was correct in doing so as all the water I added was absorbed. The coarseness of the lentils, barley walnuts in conjunction with the smoothness of the potato topping just doesn't work. It's chewey and completely throws me off of the rest of the dish. The only reason I didn't give this 1 star is that at least the flavour was half decent and the dish was marginally edible if you are starving and there is nothing left in your house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This recipe is awesome! I made some modifications, though. I use Better than Boullion instead of the Vegemite. I use a can of Veg-All sometimes to make it quicker. It also needs some spices, too. I put a little rosemary and some roasted garlic in the potatoes. Also, make sure to add a good bit of salt because it really needs it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I made this for a dinner I had for several friends and everyone liked it. It presents well and is a good hearty vegetarian dish to serve. I added some thyme and savory to the mixture. Next time I'll probably also add green beans. I added some light butter to the potatoes and next time would probably add some soy milk too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I've made this recipe a number of times and I still thoroughly enjoy it! The only changes I've made through all these instances is omitting the walnuts and adding green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Thanks for a great recipe! I use celery instead of carrots and walnuts, and I sometimes mix in a little cheddar and butter with my mashed potatoes. We have this dish about once a week, and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This was really good. I doubled the recipe and it fed 5 for dinner plus leftovers for my hubby and I the next day - but we are pretty big eaters. I didn't add the salt because I thought it was salty enough without (the broth I used must have been quite salty). Also, I added a little bit of thyme and oregano and I thought this gave it a little something extra. I mashed the potatoes with some butter and milk to make them fluffy. Next time, I might add a little garlic and try cooking the lentils and carrots/walnuts/onions together as other reviewers suggested to dirty one less pot. But yeah, this was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States