Vegetarian Shepherd's Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Delicious! Agreed that it needed some additional seasoning. I added Thyme and Rosemary, and also cooked the onion/carrot/extra veggie mixture with olive oil, garlic, and salt first. The potatoes needed a little butter or sour cream as well. Very easy to do once you've tried it once, and I can definitely see how this works well for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This is a great starter of a recipe. I would never make it as is because it is too plain. I added more vegetables and spices and it turned out quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Many of the suggestions for increasing the seasoning are great. As for texture, standard Shepherd's Pie isn't exactly a festival of textures! It's usually a way of using leftovers! :-) Marmite/Vegemite are sold in lots of supermarkets, or is available online at Amazon. It's a great secret ingredient for vegetarians, when used in small amounts, adding a depth of flavor to stews and soups. It can also be used as a substitute for anchovy paste in recipes calling for that. This Vegetarian Shepherd's Pie filling could also be made using bulgur wheat instead of barley. The combination of bulgur (or barley) with lentils makes a great pilaf and a satisfying "meaty" filling or base for shepherd's pie, moussaka, stuffing peppers, veggie-burgers, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I am really surprised by the high reviews for this recipe. I tried it two nights ago, followed instructions exactly and ended up with a very dense, extremely plain tasting, unpleasant brown/white casserole. The brown layer was as dense as the mashed potatoes, and lacking in color and vegetables. I've been a vegetarian for a long time now, and I wonder how many great veggie recipes some of the readers here have tried. This one had a savory taste and thick texture, but there was just no variety of flavor, no creaminess, no color, blech. I tried it again the next night, thinking it might age well, but no change. Adding copious amounts of cheese, green onions and bacon bits on top helped it resemble a baked potato so we could finish it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Was nice when freshly cooked, but the flavours got better after sitting in the fridge, then eating as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Everyone loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This was OK. I couldn't find the yeast extract anywhere so maybe that's the flavor it's missing. The texture was too chewy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
OMG so good! I was looking for a veggie shepherds pie recipe that tasted like my mom's (meat) version, and this is pretty close! I added in 1 can of creamed corn and 1 can whole corn in between the lentils and mashed potatoes to make it "New England Style." I fried up the onion first, then added the broth and lentils and barley, then added the chopped carrot in later. Also added in a bay leaf, some sage, and some thyme. So good, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graniteville, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
We really liked this, but felt that it could use a few more spices. Even so, it was quite good and even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne B-A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I was shocked that my husband loved this. The yeast gave it nice depth of flavor, so don't leave that out. I used nutritional yeast, but will use marmite next time, as it is richer. Wish I'd discovered this during Lent, when I gave up meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States