Vegetarian Shepherd's Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
My meat and potatoes husband loved this.. I was unable to find the yeast spread. I used instant potatoes to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Used the advice of previous reviewers. Cooked lentils for 15 minutes and added carrot mixture to the same pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Left out the walnuts (allergic), and added a touch more Vegemite (a personal favorite). Followed the recipe otherwise, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Love, love, love this! I've made it for potlucks as well and non-vegetarian people have commented on how good it is. The only changes I make was using buckwheat (kasha) for the barley and gluten free flour for the flour to make it GF friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
My kids chowed this down. I couldn't get over how good it was. My son commented on how he didn't miss the meat. The pearled barley gives this a meaty texture. I didn't have veg. broth so I substituted 2 cups water w/ 1/4 cup Mccormick's French Herb rub for roasting meat (no animal product but the comb. of herbs gives the barley a very meaty taste). Being in the US, vegemite is hard to find so I substituted nutritional yeast. Absolutely comforting and delicious. Thanks as we will add this to our list of staple recipes also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
delicious, the changes I made were to add a .25 cup of sweet corn cernels, chopped parsley, and cilantro. Yummmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Love it!!! This could be my new favorite dinner... I can't stop picking at the leftovers. But it does need considerably more broth than is listed, I probably used closer to 5 cups of liquid and cooked the barley/lentil closer to 45 mins to get the texture I liked best. You can add whatever veggies you need to use up (celery, corn, & mushrooms are awesome). I did add spices I like: tarragon, rosemary, garlic & parsley. Thanks for such a yummy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Very good. I served with mushroom gravy, and next time will add some sage. I used 1 Tbs. nutritional yeast instead of yeast extract. I also added peas, used 4 carrots, and 5 potatoes. Hubby still wanted more potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
We LOVE Marmite so we added some into the water while heating and some drizzled on top of the mashed potatoes. We also added two bay leaves, two pinches basil and oregano. The end result was fantastic. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This is a very good, filling vegetarian meal. I used baby red potatoes mashed with a little bit of butter, milk, garlic, and salt for the top. I also had to use considerably more vegetable broth for the lentils and barley. I will definitely make this again. For recipe users new to cooking with lentils, note that unless you soak them prior to cooking, they take 45 minutes to 1 hour to to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States