Vegetarian Shepherd's Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
We would prefer more sauce, so I don't add the flour/water mixture. A couple tablespoonsful of red wine and maybe one of either Worcestershire or soy sauce would add some depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
We followed the recipe exactly and it wasn't that great. The mixture of the barley and the walnuts was really awkward and the flavor was really one-dimensional. Sorry, OP. This one gets a one star from a house full of college students.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Dorval

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
My meat and potatoes husband loved this.. I was unable to find the yeast spread. I used instant potatoes to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Used the advice of previous reviewers. Cooked lentils for 15 minutes and added carrot mixture to the same pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Left out the walnuts (allergic), and added a touch more Vegemite (a personal favorite). Followed the recipe otherwise, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Love, love, love this! I've made it for potlucks as well and non-vegetarian people have commented on how good it is. The only changes I make was using buckwheat (kasha) for the barley and gluten free flour for the flour to make it GF friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
My kids chowed this down. I couldn't get over how good it was. My son commented on how he didn't miss the meat. The pearled barley gives this a meaty texture. I didn't have veg. broth so I substituted 2 cups water w/ 1/4 cup Mccormick's French Herb rub for roasting meat (no animal product but the comb. of herbs gives the barley a very meaty taste). Being in the US, vegemite is hard to find so I substituted nutritional yeast. Absolutely comforting and delicious. Thanks as we will add this to our list of staple recipes also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
delicious, the changes I made were to add a .25 cup of sweet corn cernels, chopped parsley, and cilantro. Yummmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Love it!!! This could be my new favorite dinner... I can't stop picking at the leftovers. But it does need considerably more broth than is listed, I probably used closer to 5 cups of liquid and cooked the barley/lentil closer to 45 mins to get the texture I liked best. You can add whatever veggies you need to use up (celery, corn, & mushrooms are awesome). I did add spices I like: tarragon, rosemary, garlic & parsley. Thanks for such a yummy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Very good. I served with mushroom gravy, and next time will add some sage. I used 1 Tbs. nutritional yeast instead of yeast extract. I also added peas, used 4 carrots, and 5 potatoes. Hubby still wanted more potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States