Vegetarian Shepherd's Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Loved the recipe, as did most of the guests.Had read in some reviews that it came out a little bland, so I added the garlic only when I blended the vegetables and the kasha/bulgur mix to keep a stronger flavour and I used dry mushroom soup mix instead of plain salt in step 3.Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
This is great! Even my meat-loving husband loved it - and that's saying something. The only criticism is that it is a teensy bit bland - it could use some spice of some type or another. But this will definitely be going on our repeat list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
I enjoyed this alot!As new vegetarians i was looking for something to take the place of the turkey at Thanksgiving and this did the trick for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
My meat and potatoes husband loved this shepherd's pie. I cooked the veggies in a large cast iron skillet then mixed in the kasha mixture and spread the potatoes over it all. The skillet went right in the oven and left less dishes for me to clean. I'll add more vegetables next time, but otherwise this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
This is one of my favorite recipes, although it does take a long time to prepare. Well worth the effort. This appeared in The Vegetarian Planet cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This was edible, but don't think I will make again. To be fair I used rice milk as I try to avoid animal products. Can't imagine that one thing would make it much different though. It was better with "Punk rock chickpea gravy" from Vegan with a vengence cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Yikes! I made this and it tasted A.) like i was biting into soft buckwheat and B.) bland. i tried to add more spices or salt, but everything i tried to add was not helpful. In the end, we fed it to the chickens. They liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiritedShannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Cork, County Cork, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Promising recipe but definitely on the bland side. I added in more veggies -- celery and a red bell pepper -- and some indian spices, nutritional yeast, and veggie bullion with the milk. It needed even more, maybe some thyme or sage to give it more of a savory flavor? Also I think the kasha was unnecessary and I might just use all bulguhr in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graniteville, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
A wonderful winter meal that is a big hit in our house with vegetarians and carnivores alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tuesday
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
It was good. It turned out to be a little more labor intensive than I had planned on and we ended up having to cook it quite a bit longer than the recipe suggested. If I were to make this again I would definitely take some suggestions on how to spice it up, it was kinda bland though very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuesday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Leelanau, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States