Vegetarian Shepherd's Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
SO WONDERFUL! Very hearty, I didn't miss meat at all, neither did my meat-lover fiance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happychef211

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Finally a Shepherd's pie to replace the sadly missed meat version! My 2 kids (12 & 4) gobbled it up, and my husband had a sore belly he ate so much! I added some veggie stock with the flour and put a bottle of alfredo sauce in combination with rice milk to make the 1 1/2-2 cups of milk. I also used 1 cup of bulgur wheat cooked in 2 cups of water on low for 15 minutes instead of using the two different kinds of wheat. Thanks for an awesome recipe, this will be one of our regulars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
delicious! Have made this twice now and while it was good the first time, the key for me was to season the bulgar and kasha a lot and cook it in vegetable broth with garlic and onion. I had ever cooked with either of them so it was a fun and yummy experience. I also added celery. It was a hit with my family and pretty hearty. It is veeery time consuming, I will only make it on the weekends from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrisy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I added more vegtables, left off the bulgar and kasha. Found this recipe to be truly delicious....Bravo! Great on a cold and rainy night..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
I enjoyed this alot!As new vegetarians i was looking for something to take the place of the turkey at Thanksgiving and this did the trick for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
This is one of my favorite recipes, although it does take a long time to prepare. Well worth the effort. This appeared in The Vegetarian Planet cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
This is great! Even my meat-loving husband loved it - and that's saying something. The only criticism is that it is a teensy bit bland - it could use some spice of some type or another. But this will definitely be going on our repeat list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
A wonderful winter meal that is a big hit in our house with vegetarians and carnivores alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
My meat and potatoes husband loved this shepherd's pie. I cooked the veggies in a large cast iron skillet then mixed in the kasha mixture and spread the potatoes over it all. The skillet went right in the oven and left less dishes for me to clean. I'll add more vegetables next time, but otherwise this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
There were some doubters in the house. We wanted to have an all-vegetarian week, and picked this out. It was great! Everyone loved it. It did take a bit of time, but not too bad really. Only thing to watch out for is that it makes A LOT. It took about three tries for us (2 adults, 1 kid) to finish it all. Have a salad with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylouise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States