Vegetarian Shepherd's Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
I enjoyed this alot!As new vegetarians i was looking for something to take the place of the turkey at Thanksgiving and this did the trick for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
This is one of my favorite recipes, although it does take a long time to prepare. Well worth the effort. This appeared in The Vegetarian Planet cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
This is great! Even my meat-loving husband loved it - and that's saying something. The only criticism is that it is a teensy bit bland - it could use some spice of some type or another. But this will definitely be going on our repeat list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Loved the recipe, as did most of the guests.Had read in some reviews that it came out a little bland, so I added the garlic only when I blended the vegetables and the kasha/bulgur mix to keep a stronger flavour and I used dry mushroom soup mix instead of plain salt in step 3.Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
A wonderful winter meal that is a big hit in our house with vegetarians and carnivores alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
My meat and potatoes husband loved this shepherd's pie. I cooked the veggies in a large cast iron skillet then mixed in the kasha mixture and spread the potatoes over it all. The skillet went right in the oven and left less dishes for me to clean. I'll add more vegetables next time, but otherwise this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
There were some doubters in the house. We wanted to have an all-vegetarian week, and picked this out. It was great! Everyone loved it. It did take a bit of time, but not too bad really. Only thing to watch out for is that it makes A LOT. It took about three tries for us (2 adults, 1 kid) to finish it all. Have a salad with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylouise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This was edible, but don't think I will make again. To be fair I used rice milk as I try to avoid animal products. Can't imagine that one thing would make it much different though. It was better with "Punk rock chickpea gravy" from Vegan with a vengence cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
SO WONDERFUL! Very hearty, I didn't miss meat at all, neither did my meat-lover fiance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happychef211

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States