Vegetarian Sandwich Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2001
I had some problems with this recipe. I couldn't find a can of vegetarian hot dogs, so I bought the packaged kind. They don't mash up easily even when put in the blender. After adding the other ingredients I still had a chunky spread that did not adhere to my bread. The taste is good, though. It's not smooth enough for my baby to eat, so I can't rate it kid-friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
Don't waste your time. I tried this for 2 days and dumped it. Horrible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
This sandwich spread is FABULOUS! The other two who rated it made it with the wrong veggie hot dogs. It MUST be made with the canned variety or it will not be good -- because those veggie dogs that are packaged like regular dogs are always nasty. You can get the canned ones at http://www.lomalindamarket.com (no - not a plug :) I think Linketts are best for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
I've been making this for years! My recipe uses dill pickles and we prefer Loma Linda Big Franks (regular or low-fat). This tastes great on whole-grain bread with crisp lettuce. You can also make the spread in a food processor for a smoother texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton Freewater, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
I grew up eating this kind of stuff and this recipe in particular! I always loved it. I agree the Loma Linda Big Franks are the best to use in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
I used to eat this as a child at Seventh Day Adventist potlucks. It was always one of my favorite things. My husband says it tastes like the bologny spread he used to eat as a kid. I made it today and it is good. I bought a can of Linketts and a can of Vega-Links to see which one I liked better. I think that the Vega-Links have better color for this recipe and they also mash a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I thought this was EXCELLENT! My husband and I love the Worthington brand Big Franks and they work great for this recipe (so do the Veja-links). I will definitely use this recipe often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Two out of three kids would eat it so this is definitely a keeper. I used Linkettes and dill relish instead of the sweet. Very good even I ate it two days in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
This is wonderful. I used Morningstar Farms frozen veggie dogs (my new fav). Thawed and cubed them, threw them in a frying pan with the onions for just a sec. to make sure the dogs were cooked. Not sure if they needed to be. Then threw the dogs, onion and relish into the food processor. Let them cool then added some Miracle Whip. Yum! Reminds me of the canned deviled ham sandwich spread I used to eat as a child. Great on a bagel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivianne417

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I LOVE these sandwiches. We ate them growing up and my Mom always called them “Smooshed Weiner Sandwiches” Haha. We use Worthington brand Veja Links and regular relish. They are super fast, delicious and the mixture keeps in the fridge for a long time too. I have never added the onion but now might have to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States