Vegetarian Sandwich Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Good with Linkette's or Big Franks (both canned). And my favorite is using dill pickles vs. sweet. If you're a dill kind of person, don't use sweet in these, bottom line. Onions are good, but optional. Overall very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicaD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I use Worthington Vega-links (I'm not abot a shameless plug), but I had to use only 1/2 cup of the relish the second time around... yes, I agree. Emphasis on CANNED vegetarian hotdogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
OMG, this is fantastic! My family has been inching toward vegetarianism for several years, and the hangup is always what to have for lunch. We had tried the frozen veg hotdogs and they were worse than awful. Tried this with just veja-links and mayo (didn't have pickle relish, and forgot about the onion) and my hubby and I loved it. We'll find out when the kids get in from school whether it's kid-friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Love it! Love it! One of my childhood favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grassy Butte, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Keene, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I just made this recipe and it was very good. I served it on a slice of bread with a slice of cheese and sliced tomatoes. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I did not care for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I LOVE these sandwiches. We ate them growing up and my Mom always called them “Smooshed Weiner Sandwiches” Haha. We use Worthington brand Veja Links and regular relish. They are super fast, delicious and the mixture keeps in the fridge for a long time too. I have never added the onion but now might have to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
This is wonderful. I used Morningstar Farms frozen veggie dogs (my new fav). Thawed and cubed them, threw them in a frying pan with the onions for just a sec. to make sure the dogs were cooked. Not sure if they needed to be. Then threw the dogs, onion and relish into the food processor. Let them cool then added some Miracle Whip. Yum! Reminds me of the canned deviled ham sandwich spread I used to eat as a child. Great on a bagel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivianne417

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Two out of three kids would eat it so this is definitely a keeper. I used Linkettes and dill relish instead of the sweet. Very good even I ate it two days in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I thought this was EXCELLENT! My husband and I love the Worthington brand Big Franks and they work great for this recipe (so do the Veja-links). I will definitely use this recipe often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States