Vegetarian Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Okay. I enjoyed the meaty texture and drizzled it with Sweet Baby Ray's spicy bbq sauce. Take care not to overbake. I prefer a mostly similar "ribs" recipe I found on fatfreevegan.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ammelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
My kids just loved this. They wanted more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berrien Springs, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Love this recipe! My husband loved it too. I will make this again and again! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liza Dore

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I love these things. I just read the reviews and had to respond to a few things. You don't/can't activate nutritional yeast, it's just not that kind of yeast. You can make your own gluten easily, though slowly, by mixing half all purpose white flour, and half wheat flour into a stiff ball (for 2 cups gluten, use 4 cups flour total) nthen cover with cold water and let rest an hour. then knead until REALLY cloudy, change water let rest, etc. until kneading leaves almost clear water. tada, gluten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
I just have one quick question: Where can I buy gluten, I'm dying to try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by natalie
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
What a strange recipe, but it works!! I kept draining any excess water and my ribs turned out thick with great texture. This recipe may work in other ways...I'm going to try making balls and adding them to a sweet & sour dish and also try them with ketchup (instead of BBQ) for more of a 'meat loafy' dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalie
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I loved this recipe and, like everyone else, thought I'd messed it up. They are really tasty! I would like to know how to make them thicker, though. Mine spread out quite a bit. Any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I have made these several times now and passed the recipe site on to many people. I followed the recipe except to cut the water to only 2 cups, the salt to 1/2 T. and the oil to 1/3 cup or less. I used crunchy peanut butter last time because I was out of smooth. I took them to a large church potluck and they were a big hit. My kids love them also. I still haven't made them with barbecue sauce. I just served them as they come out of the oven, cool over night in the refrigerator. I hope to try them barbecued for 4th of July!!! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamabear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Wow! This was great! One of the things I missed when going vegetarian was ribs and this is a great alternative. My only problem was spreading the peanut butter on the mixture- it didn't seem to want to stick at all until the onions and oil were added. This recipe impressed my skeptical friends, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hklinger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Im' glad I followed your advice to keep going with the recipe.Without this advice I would normally have thrown it out any time after adding liquid.What a mess.Delicious,Hot or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States