Vegetarian Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Delicious! Highly recommended, crispy, chewy, and very filling. I am SO glad you said to keep going with this recipe. It seemed odd, and possibly awful. Instead, everyone in my family loved it! I just left the BBQ sauce off a few pieces for my 2 picky girls, they liked it with ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This is recipe is requested when the vegetarian in-laws come to visit. I think the texture and flavors are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This is a good recipe ingredient wise, but the instructions make it more complicated than necessary. Try this instead - mix all ingredients in a large bowl, except the wheat gluten, till smooth. Then add gluten to the bowl and mix with a spoon till most of the gluten is moist. Then you can knead for a minute or two. Now your ready to break into chunks, shape and bake. I also found the bake time to be a bit long- try 10 minutes less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Very good for the first time making it. My family was not impressed at first with the big blob. I added liquid smoke, onion powder, and garlic powder. Once it had baked they all thought it was very tasty, meat eaters and vegetarians alike. The only one who did not like it was my youngest son because he hates peanut butter and he saw me coat it in peanut butter (you can't taste the peanut butter). Next time I will make it and tell him I did not use peanut butter. I plan to still tweak the recipe maybe less water since I had a blob instead of a ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kljbaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
The flavor was quite delish!!! I served it on a bed of spinach and had it for lunch quite filling. I too did not have a ball but instead scooped it on to the baking sheet;maybe next time I'll experiment with the water ratio. Thanks for a great vegetarian option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alellis
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
The texture was a little off for me; but, it definitely wasn't bad at all. My carnivore husband said it wasn't bad after he talked about how it looked while I was preparing it. I tweaked some by adding bell peppers with the onions, it really brought out the flavor well. Pair it with baked beans, corn on the cob, and potato salad and the meal is complete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alellis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Ive made these a few times and we love them. we added choped green peppers and worcestershire sauce to the onions and it turned out fantastic!!! My mom eats meat, and she liked these also. So vegetarian or carnivore these are amaizing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanya22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I'm vegetarian, my hubby is not, and I just made these. I liked them but did not love them. My hubby didn't really like them, but he did take a few bites without much complaint. Generally, these were easy to make. The dough is pretty impliable! The ribs do come out resembling bread sticks but honestly, it was a great alternative to processed fake meat. I'd make this again - hopefully I'll improve on the recipe over time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
The amount of water has been corrected to read "2 cups". You may need to use more water depending on the consistency of the gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Help! Tried this tonight, first time using vital wheat gluten. Followed all directions, but reduced oil to 1/3 cup, and water to 2 cups. All seemed as described, I did knead it for a minute or two, as I wanted it slightly less chewy. It smelled and looked heavenly, but we could barely eat it, it was soooooooo cheewwwwwyyyyy, and the texture was more bread-like, not dense or meat-like. I know you warned about cutting or rolling, and I definitely did NOT do either..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States