Vegetarian Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I made these because my boyfriend wants to become a vegetarian. He hated them. The texture is what got to him, I think - he compared it to eating stale bread. I had no problem eating it and, if I wasn't told, I would think these ribs were meat. I thought they were excellent, some good spice to them if you use Baby Ray's BBQ Sauce...but tastes differ for everybody.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlreadyAlready

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I haven't eaten meat in eleven years, and ribs are the only thing I miss. I happen to be very forgiving of any vegetarian "meat" substitutes; because it's been so long, I can hardly tell anymore that veggie burgers don't taste exactly like the real thing. So I had high hopes for these, especially given all the positive reviews. Unfortunately, they're not to my liking. I wish I had something to compare them to, but the texture isn't like anything I've ever had before or ever care to try again. Despite the attempts of the paprika and onion to add flavor, these taste like some kind of bland, chewy blob soaked in barbeque sauce. Which makes me like barbeque sauce less, since it's meant to enhance flavor, not BE the only flavor. I had some amazing vegetarian ribs at B. Smith's when I was visiting a friend in DC, but unfortunately I live in Milwaukee... and they were $19. So I will continue searching for a recipe that calls for carmelized sweet potatoes, in the hope that it will be closer, since that's what those were made of. If you're going to try these, I suggest cutting the recipe in half the first time, since it is a huge waste of a lot of expensive ingredients if it turns out you don't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I have been a vegetarian for a a while and have been more than happy ditching meat. However, my wonderful husband just chose to be a vegetarian and has been missing meat a little. So, on a whim I tried this recipe with no expectations. I followed it to a T and they turned out amazing. I was worried when I pulled them out to slather on BBQ sauce because they were dry and crispy. The sauce finished them nicely though and they ended up with the yummy taste and consistency of meat. YUM! Can't wait to try again but will use 1/2 recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Quite good. I was worried when I saw the peanut butter, but turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
these were great, I didn't add the yeast and it still had a great flavor.I have made it twice now and the first time they cooked a little too long and were crunchy, the second time i cooked them less than recomended and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Messy Messy! took a lot of work too. A little on the expensive side too, I thought it wasted a lot of my olive oil and paprika. I found it to be chewy but good as long as you have a delicious BBQ sauce coated on them things your good to go! As I said good but not great we might make try to make them again. Thanks for the great idea and recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Munchter_Face

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Does anyone know what I can replace the gluten with? its too expensive for the katimavik budget I'm on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
After reading some of the reviews I got a little nervous but pressed on. My mixture never turned into a ball it was pretty soupy but the onions and oil mixed in nicely and they worked well on the baking sheet. I baked for 35 minutes and had the bbq sauce on for 20 because I like the flavor of cooked sauce and it turned out very well. Will definitely keep on my summer menu for get togethers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mak's Best

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
It's true it looked odd while I was cooking it, but it was fantastic. My boyfriend and I are vegetarian and it makes it so much easier having delicious recipes to share with our non-veggie family members in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I love these 'ribs'. They are so delicious! There are two things I miss most about eating meat - buffalo chicken wings, and BBQ ribs. These are extremely satisfying alternatives and making them is quite fun. Kind of reminds me of playing in the mud, in a good way. It was a new experience and I am sure I did some parts wrong - but it came out great anyway. I used a very sweet BBQ sauce to coat them and used way more than 2 cups. I am a person who loves texture in food, and the texture in these were amazing! Chewy, a tad crunchy on the outer edges, and tender in the middle - they were perfect and reminded me of real meat. I will make these again and again! Now if only someone would make a convincing buffalo chicken wing substitute, my life would be complete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanatwo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States