Vegetarian Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Love this recipe! My husband loved it too. I will make this again and again! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I have made these several times now and passed the recipe site on to many people. I followed the recipe except to cut the water to only 2 cups, the salt to 1/2 T. and the oil to 1/3 cup or less. I used crunchy peanut butter last time because I was out of smooth. I took them to a large church potluck and they were a big hit. My kids love them also. I still haven't made them with barbecue sauce. I just served them as they come out of the oven, cool over night in the refrigerator. I hope to try them barbecued for 4th of July!!! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamabear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
My kids just loved this. They wanted more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berrien Springs, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Great for Vegetarians!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
We love these things. I melt the peanut butter in the microwave for about 30 seconds to make it spread easier and we eat them with wing sauce(anchovy free) and they're delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Great flavor! I followed this recipe to a "T", but I did have some issues with my gluten dough. I think the water really should be cut down to 2 cups, instead of 3 cups. My dough was very wet and never once resembled the "ball" the recipe talks about. I had to drain a LOT of water, and I felt like all my paprika was being washed down the drain! When I went to make the "ribs" there was no pulling or twisting going on with the dough...it was more like slopping it into the pan and hoping that it would dry out in the oven! I would also cut the amount of BBQ sauce to 1 or 1 1/2 cups...2 cups was way too much. Other than too-wet dough, the flavor was really quite delicious, and the texture would be better if I used less liquid. I will definitely give this one another try! Good luck....stick with it, even if it seems like all hope is lost. They are very tasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I love these things. I just read the reviews and had to respond to a few things. You don't/can't activate nutritional yeast, it's just not that kind of yeast. You can make your own gluten easily, though slowly, by mixing half all purpose white flour, and half wheat flour into a stiff ball (for 2 cups gluten, use 4 cups flour total) nthen cover with cold water and let rest an hour. then knead until REALLY cloudy, change water let rest, etc. until kneading leaves almost clear water. tada, gluten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Awesome! served this to a bunch of carnivores, vegetarians and vegans alike (check your bbq sauce carefully, could have fish in it). This is AWESOME -- these are not supposed to rise, the nutritional yeast gives flavor, and is not a leavening agent. You can get Gluten at a Health food store usually called "Wheat Gluten" or "Vital Wheat Gluten". It sometimes comes in bulk sections, or in specialty flour sections (even in our 'natural food section' of our regular grocery).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
I love these! When I take them to potlucks, I will call them BBQ Breadsticks to refrain from scaring the carnivours. The flavor is awesome, and the texture is way better than what I expected! Thanks for a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momi
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
These were very tasty. I notice that the recipe has been edited since the last time I made these, the water being reduced to 2 cups. I added onion powder to the dry mix and used Bragg's Liquid Aminos instead of salt. Heated peanut butter in microwave so it would spread easier. Reduced the oil to 1/3 cup & realized I'd cut the onions too chunky - pureed them in the blender after they cooked. The dough mixed up much nicer and looked and tasted like something I'd serve to company. Baked on parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States