Vegetarian Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I love these things. I just read the reviews and had to respond to a few things. You don't/can't activate nutritional yeast, it's just not that kind of yeast. You can make your own gluten easily, though slowly, by mixing half all purpose white flour, and half wheat flour into a stiff ball (for 2 cups gluten, use 4 cups flour total) nthen cover with cold water and let rest an hour. then knead until REALLY cloudy, change water let rest, etc. until kneading leaves almost clear water. tada, gluten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
EXPERIENCED BBQ'er ...hi everyone. If you are having ANY trouble with this recipe, please contact me and I'll be glad to troubleshoot. This recipes comes from The Farm Vegetarian Cookbook and I have been making this recipe since the early 1980's and have it down pat!!!! Please write with your questions and I'll be more than happy to answer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny Foster Carey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Awesome! served this to a bunch of carnivores, vegetarians and vegans alike (check your bbq sauce carefully, could have fish in it). This is AWESOME -- these are not supposed to rise, the nutritional yeast gives flavor, and is not a leavening agent. You can get Gluten at a Health food store usually called "Wheat Gluten" or "Vital Wheat Gluten". It sometimes comes in bulk sections, or in specialty flour sections (even in our 'natural food section' of our regular grocery).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This is a good recipe ingredient wise, but the instructions make it more complicated than necessary. Try this instead - mix all ingredients in a large bowl, except the wheat gluten, till smooth. Then add gluten to the bowl and mix with a spoon till most of the gluten is moist. Then you can knead for a minute or two. Now your ready to break into chunks, shape and bake. I also found the bake time to be a bit long- try 10 minutes less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Great flavor! I followed this recipe to a "T", but I did have some issues with my gluten dough. I think the water really should be cut down to 2 cups, instead of 3 cups. My dough was very wet and never once resembled the "ball" the recipe talks about. I had to drain a LOT of water, and I felt like all my paprika was being washed down the drain! When I went to make the "ribs" there was no pulling or twisting going on with the dough...it was more like slopping it into the pan and hoping that it would dry out in the oven! I would also cut the amount of BBQ sauce to 1 or 1 1/2 cups...2 cups was way too much. Other than too-wet dough, the flavor was really quite delicious, and the texture would be better if I used less liquid. I will definitely give this one another try! Good luck....stick with it, even if it seems like all hope is lost. They are very tasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momi
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
These were very tasty. I notice that the recipe has been edited since the last time I made these, the water being reduced to 2 cups. I added onion powder to the dry mix and used Bragg's Liquid Aminos instead of salt. Heated peanut butter in microwave so it would spread easier. Reduced the oil to 1/3 cup & realized I'd cut the onions too chunky - pureed them in the blender after they cooked. The dough mixed up much nicer and looked and tasted like something I'd serve to company. Baked on parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I haven't eaten meat in eleven years, and ribs are the only thing I miss. I happen to be very forgiving of any vegetarian "meat" substitutes; because it's been so long, I can hardly tell anymore that veggie burgers don't taste exactly like the real thing. So I had high hopes for these, especially given all the positive reviews. Unfortunately, they're not to my liking. I wish I had something to compare them to, but the texture isn't like anything I've ever had before or ever care to try again. Despite the attempts of the paprika and onion to add flavor, these taste like some kind of bland, chewy blob soaked in barbeque sauce. Which makes me like barbeque sauce less, since it's meant to enhance flavor, not BE the only flavor. I had some amazing vegetarian ribs at B. Smith's when I was visiting a friend in DC, but unfortunately I live in Milwaukee... and they were $19. So I will continue searching for a recipe that calls for carmelized sweet potatoes, in the hope that it will be closer, since that's what those were made of. If you're going to try these, I suggest cutting the recipe in half the first time, since it is a huge waste of a lot of expensive ingredients if it turns out you don't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
My children absolutely loved these even though they looked nothing like they were supposed to. I think a few more details in the recipe would have made this easier e.g. the recipe probably should have specified "warm" water to help activate the yeast. My "ribs" came out flat like hamburgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Just made my first batch. As others have suggested the recipe needs tweeking to make it simpler. 1. Saute onions in 1/4 c oil. 2. Add all spices, seasonings and PB to cooked onions. 3. I also added 1 T liquid smoke and 3 T Braggs. 4. Add 1 1/2 c. water( you could use a broth here) to onion mix. 5. Now add the Vital Gluten and mix just to moisten all ingredients. Knead if you like. 6. Ready to break off chunks and bake. And YES, reduce the baking time by at least 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Im' glad I followed your advice to keep going with the recipe.Without this advice I would normally have thrown it out any time after adding liquid.What a mess.Delicious,Hot or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States