Vegetarian Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Help! Tried this tonight, first time using vital wheat gluten. Followed all directions, but reduced oil to 1/3 cup, and water to 2 cups. All seemed as described, I did knead it for a minute or two, as I wanted it slightly less chewy. It smelled and looked heavenly, but we could barely eat it, it was soooooooo cheewwwwwyyyyy, and the texture was more bread-like, not dense or meat-like. I know you warned about cutting or rolling, and I definitely did NOT do either..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Very good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I really did not like these at all. I am a vegetarian and I enjoy most vegetarian foods, so I really thought these would be good, but they just weren't. I had no trouble making them, but I guess I was not expecting the chewy weird texture (and I like tofu!). I don't know how people could call them breadsticks, really the texture was nothing like bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Great for Vegetarians!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momi
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
These were very tasty. I notice that the recipe has been edited since the last time I made these, the water being reduced to 2 cups. I added onion powder to the dry mix and used Bragg's Liquid Aminos instead of salt. Heated peanut butter in microwave so it would spread easier. Reduced the oil to 1/3 cup & realized I'd cut the onions too chunky - pureed them in the blender after they cooked. The dough mixed up much nicer and looked and tasted like something I'd serve to company. Baked on parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Great flavor! I followed this recipe to a "T", but I did have some issues with my gluten dough. I think the water really should be cut down to 2 cups, instead of 3 cups. My dough was very wet and never once resembled the "ball" the recipe talks about. I had to drain a LOT of water, and I felt like all my paprika was being washed down the drain! When I went to make the "ribs" there was no pulling or twisting going on with the dough...it was more like slopping it into the pan and hoping that it would dry out in the oven! I would also cut the amount of BBQ sauce to 1 or 1 1/2 cups...2 cups was way too much. Other than too-wet dough, the flavor was really quite delicious, and the texture would be better if I used less liquid. I will definitely give this one another try! Good luck....stick with it, even if it seems like all hope is lost. They are very tasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
These were really good. They did not look like the pic, though. The dough was very wet, I couldn't roll, it basically was one big blob, so I cut it when it was cooked. Next time I would use less liquid. Otherwise, they were very yummy!! My husband loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Puente, California, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
EXPERIENCED BBQ'er ...hi everyone. If you are having ANY trouble with this recipe, please contact me and I'll be glad to troubleshoot. This recipes comes from The Farm Vegetarian Cookbook and I have been making this recipe since the early 1980's and have it down pat!!!! Please write with your questions and I'll be more than happy to answer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny Foster Carey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
We love these things. I melt the peanut butter in the microwave for about 30 seconds to make it spread easier and we eat them with wing sauce(anchovy free) and they're delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I was really hopeful about this recipe since one of the things I really miss as a vegetarian is barbecue. But the end product was mushy and tasted like bread. I don't think I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States