Vegetarian Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Amazing! As a couple who are doing a one year vegetarian challenge, this recipe was so welcome as it was delicious and makes you feel like you're eating meat. The gluten mixture seemed very liquidy but baked up really well - a bit too well with a convection oven so we will try the regular setting next time, and perhaps baking it a little less. All in all - LOVED this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I have tried multiple different versions of seitan and this one is by far the best. Like another reviewer suggested, I just dump everything together and stir and it still turns out amazing every time. Thank you so much for a deliciously quick and easy way for vegetarians to enjoy that bbq!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portage, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!! My husband and I were missing biting into something "meaty" so I found this recipe and was sooo impressed with the texture and flavour. The recipe was very quick, easy and very forgiving: I made a couple little changes, like others, by adding liquid smoke and some browning liquid, as well as mixing everything together instead of bothering with coating the gluten mixture. Even with these changes it still worked great. It's now a definite "regular" in our meal plan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
These were AMAZING! My carnivorous husband said it was the best vegetarian food he's ever eaten in the 16 years we've been together. The only thing different I did is used sunflower butter instead of peanut cause I have an allergy. It only took about ten minutes to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I'm sorry but, I really did not like this. Neither did my husband or my stepdaughter. I've never met a food my stepdaughter didn't like until now. It tasted like a mushy, chewy lump of dough. It was very bland. What flavor it did have was somewhat bitter. I thought the flavor of the BBQ sauce would mask the odd flavor of the "ribs" but, it did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
These are really good! I had it with salad, but I don;t recommend. A better side dish would be plain rice or a baked potato, because the taste in these "ribs" is really strong. I added more seasoning to the mixture, including roasted garlic. I think I might have made them not thick enough, because the bottom was somewhat crunchy. Or perhaps 50 min in the over is a bit much for some ovens. Anyway, will definitely make it again when I am craving meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Almost as good as the real thing! My kids had no idea and my husband really enjoyed them. I add a little honey and A1 steak sauce to my BBQ sauce for an extra kick. Super easy to make as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
For me, this recipe was very frustrating to make. A big mess and I was unable to make anything that resembled ribs. It looked like little dumpy hamburgers. HOWEVER, this was quite tasty, and when you cut the cooked gluten, it did look and have similar texture to meat, not to mention the little "bites" were quite addicting. I would make this again, but I will be more prepared for that "shock" factor of the mess. To save on costs, Make your own gluten! (Thank you Scurl!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Nutritional Yeast has a somewhat cheesy flavour. As well as a flavour enhancer, it's an excellent source of thiamine and B12...with protein and iron. It's pretty important when you're veg. I sprinkle it on my prepared food, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I've already made this recipe twice in the same number of weeks! My family and I LOVE this; will save us a bunch of money since we won't have to buy MorningStar brand for delicious vegetarian ribs!!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States