Vegetarian Reubens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
i make my veggie ruebans with sliced tofu (pressed/drained) browned in soy butter & a few tbs of garlic powder. I layer the tofu over rye bread, 1000 island dressing, warmed sauerkraut & swiss cheese... it tastes awesome and satisfies my meat eating bf :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
I thought these were okay but nothing I would make again. A classic reuben calls for Swiss cheese, not smoked cheddar. I followed the recipe exactly but think it would have been better with the Swiss. Also, I question why the cheese is shredded and mixed with the sauerkraut and dressing--seems like a lot of extra work. Even though this recipe omits the meat, the procedure for making the sandwich could still be followed--put the dressing on the inside of the bread and then layer the cheese, sauerkraut and tomato. I may try it that way, using Swiss cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by belle
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
So yummy! What a great idea. I did use swiss and layered the ingredients instead of mixing them for ease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by grimmy35
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I couldn't be any happier with this recipe! First of all, I don't like rye bread, I don't like sauerkraut, and I'm not too much of a fan of 1000 island dressing, but for some reason I was ecstatic to try these and as soon as I took the first bite, I was sold. My review is just one in a long list of reviews that say essentially the same thing: These are amazing! Things we did differently: We did not shred the cheese, but instead put it on top as you would with any other sandwich. We did not use the full 1/3 of a cup of dressing as the recipe for 2 sandwiches called for - instead we used slightly less. But seriously, these were just so good! They are super fast to make and great for families that have people who are not all vegetarians. My husband was able to put meat on his while I ate mine as is. Can't say enough about these except that I plan on having them again. (and again, and again...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
Very simple and yummy too. You must try them to know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I am not a fan of Cheddar Cheese in Rubens so I switched it out to Swiss cheese and did the rest of it as suggested. I like mixing the cheese with the sauerkraut. It has a better blend and balance of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Liedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I made one sandwich with this recipe, just for me. I used smoked swiss and my homemade spicy fry sauce, which is kind of like thousand island. I also used a quality nutty wheat bread, I don't normally have rye bread on hand because 1) I don't eat much bread anymore and 2) I would be the only one who would eat it. This was SUPER yummy, a real treat for someone who gets a special treat now and then. NOTE: I did squeeze out a lot of the extra moisture from the sauerkraut so my sandwich wouldn't be too mushy. It is plenty wet with the sauce and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This was okay but i think i will try swiss cheese like another person mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Mmmm, I thought this was GREAT! I did rinse my sauerkraut some (personal preference), and used swiss cheese. I really liked the idea of mixing the dressing with the sauerkraut, as I though it was less messy that way. I also really like the addition of the tomato...I didn't miss the meat at all! I will be making these many more times in the future! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States