Vegetarian Reubens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I liked it, all the flavor was there so you didn't miss the meat. I also layered the ingredients and used swiss,no tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
i make my veggie ruebans with sliced tofu (pressed/drained) browned in soy butter & a few tbs of garlic powder. I layer the tofu over rye bread, 1000 island dressing, warmed sauerkraut & swiss cheese... it tastes awesome and satisfies my meat eating bf :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Loved this! Yum, yum, yum... used Swiss cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This was pretty good and simple but next time, no tomato. It didn't really add to it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
i had my doubts at first, but this was really good. it was quick and easy to make AND delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by belle
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
So yummy! What a great idea. I did use swiss and layered the ingredients instead of mixing them for ease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nancey Malone Cassalia
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
these are amazing!! as others we changed the cheddar for swiss and they are not missing any flavor!! what meat???? a definate keeper!! mixing the cheese and dressing with the kraut is the gr8est for several reasons and at my cooking age i wonder why i've never thought of it!! thanks 4 da gr8 recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancey Malone Cassalia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I am not a fan of Cheddar Cheese in Rubens so I switched it out to Swiss cheese and did the rest of it as suggested. I like mixing the cheese with the sauerkraut. It has a better blend and balance of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Liedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
I thought these were okay but nothing I would make again. A classic reuben calls for Swiss cheese, not smoked cheddar. I followed the recipe exactly but think it would have been better with the Swiss. Also, I question why the cheese is shredded and mixed with the sauerkraut and dressing--seems like a lot of extra work. Even though this recipe omits the meat, the procedure for making the sandwich could still be followed--put the dressing on the inside of the bread and then layer the cheese, sauerkraut and tomato. I may try it that way, using Swiss cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States