Vegetarian Reubens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Very good sandwich alternative for non-meat eaters! I used Swiss Cheese instead of Smoked Cheddar as I prefer the more traditional Reuben flavor. The acidity of the tomatoes was almost too much with the sauerkraut, but that could be because local tomatoes won't be in here for a few more months. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This didn't sound great, so I was surprised that it tasted so good. I made it just as written except that I omitted the butter and used cooking spray and used swiss cheese instead of cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by grimmy35
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I couldn't be any happier with this recipe! First of all, I don't like rye bread, I don't like sauerkraut, and I'm not too much of a fan of 1000 island dressing, but for some reason I was ecstatic to try these and as soon as I took the first bite, I was sold. My review is just one in a long list of reviews that say essentially the same thing: These are amazing! Things we did differently: We did not shred the cheese, but instead put it on top as you would with any other sandwich. We did not use the full 1/3 of a cup of dressing as the recipe for 2 sandwiches called for - instead we used slightly less. But seriously, these were just so good! They are super fast to make and great for families that have people who are not all vegetarians. My husband was able to put meat on his while I ate mine as is. Can't say enough about these except that I plan on having them again. (and again, and again...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
delicious! I used lowfat cheeses and a tiny bit of adobo sauce with my lowfat part skim cheese to give it a smoky flavor. I also substituted butter for a vegetable oil spread, used fast free thousand Island dressing, and left it as an open faced sandwich with just one slice of bread to cut down the calories. I was very happy with the result!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
these were fantastic! we added portabella mushrooms sauteed in red wine and garlic~ these flavors really compliment the original recipe! we loved it! will defiantly make it again! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This was okay but i think i will try swiss cheese like another person mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Mmmm, I thought this was GREAT! I did rinse my sauerkraut some (personal preference), and used swiss cheese. I really liked the idea of mixing the dressing with the sauerkraut, as I though it was less messy that way. I also really like the addition of the tomato...I didn't miss the meat at all! I will be making these many more times in the future! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I made one sandwich with this recipe, just for me. I used smoked swiss and my homemade spicy fry sauce, which is kind of like thousand island. I also used a quality nutty wheat bread, I don't normally have rye bread on hand because 1) I don't eat much bread anymore and 2) I would be the only one who would eat it. This was SUPER yummy, a real treat for someone who gets a special treat now and then. NOTE: I did squeeze out a lot of the extra moisture from the sauerkraut so my sandwich wouldn't be too mushy. It is plenty wet with the sauce and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
These were very good, a little messy but still good. I made exactly as written. I made my own thousand island dressing from the Thousand Island Dressing II recipe from this site. I will be making these again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States