Vegetarian Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Good. I can't have garlic, so subbed shallots instead. Beans that haven't soaked will be tough. Soak overnight and throw out that water. Replace with fresh water and continue with the recipe. Or bring beans to a boil. Let sit for an hour or two, then toss that water. Use fresh water and proceed with recipe. Or just use canned beans. Changing the water will take the toot out of the beans. Also, be sure not to add the salt until the beans are almost cooked through. If you add it early, the beans will be tough. If using canned beans, you won't need to add salt as there is plenty in the beans already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I never made refried beans before,wow did this come out great. The taste compared with my favorite beans at the local Mexican Resturant. Used some of the refried beans to make beef and bean enchilidas, great, my husband asked for more!!! I followed the recipe to the letter. It deserves *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
Wonderful refried beans! And healthy too! I did not add the tomato, otherwise I followed the recipe as it's written. Instead of mashing the beans, I pureed them in the blender to make them nice and smooth just like they are at our favorite Mexican restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Three Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
I have made this very basic recipe for cooking the beans, to make Refritos, for over 40 years, minus the tomato. You get creative with additional ingredients when you are actually cooking the Refritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Absolutely *loved* this recipe! I needed refried beans to make a 7-layer dip for a party and thought I'd try my hand at making my own beans for the dip. I omitted the cumin, added chopped green bell pepper (half a pepper) and handful of chopped green onions (only because I had them on hand) and it smelled wonderful while it was cooking! I had to drain some of the liquid before mashing them (or the consistency wouldn't be thick enough). I tried a bowl w/ some shredded cheese on top and it was *yummy*! I'm sure it'll add special flavor to the Mexican 7-layer dip and taste better than canned beans. It is a very simple recipe; just a bit time consuming as it has to simmer a while but if you're home anyway, it's no big deal. Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Linz, Oberösterreich, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
This recipe is great! I wouldn't change a thing. Just make sure you have an entire free evening to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
These beans were great! I didn't have much time, so I used canned beans and left out the salt since canned beans are salty. I also added a little red pepper flakes for some heat. Very quick and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I just got done making the beans and they are great. the recipe is so easy to follow. I have never made homemade beans in my life tell to day and you would never know it. What i did different was before the beans where done cooking i added the salt then. That let the beans absorb the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Great stuff! So flavourful. I made it with black beans, but otherwise followed the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pacha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I left out the tomato and it was great. I've made a crock pot version of refried beans before so experimented and left these cooking overnight on low on the stovetop (so I could go to sleep) and they turned out great - didn't burn and I didn't have to wait up! Fantastic find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States