Vegetarian Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
I have made this very basic recipe for cooking the beans, to make Refritos, for over 40 years, minus the tomato. You get creative with additional ingredients when you are actually cooking the Refritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
Wonderful refried beans! And healthy too! I did not add the tomato, otherwise I followed the recipe as it's written. Instead of mashing the beans, I pureed them in the blender to make them nice and smooth just like they are at our favorite Mexican restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Three Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
These were GREAT! I added the tomato, but didn't add the oil (actually, I forgot). Didn't seem to make any difference. Everyone gave these rave reviews - even my 5 year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I just got done making the beans and they are great. the recipe is so easy to follow. I have never made homemade beans in my life tell to day and you would never know it. What i did different was before the beans where done cooking i added the salt then. That let the beans absorb the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
This recipe is great! I wouldn't change a thing. Just make sure you have an entire free evening to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
These beans were great! I didn't have much time, so I used canned beans and left out the salt since canned beans are salty. I also added a little red pepper flakes for some heat. Very quick and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Joan HealyHartill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Absolutely *loved* this recipe! I needed refried beans to make a 7-layer dip for a party and thought I'd try my hand at making my own beans for the dip. I omitted the cumin, added chopped green bell pepper (half a pepper) and handful of chopped green onions (only because I had them on hand) and it smelled wonderful while it was cooking! I had to drain some of the liquid before mashing them (or the consistency wouldn't be thick enough). I tried a bowl w/ some shredded cheese on top and it was *yummy*! I'm sure it'll add special flavor to the Mexican 7-layer dip and taste better than canned beans. It is a very simple recipe; just a bit time consuming as it has to simmer a while but if you're home anyway, it's no big deal. Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Linz, Oberösterreich, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Very good consistency...just like other recipes with a lot of lard/animal fat! My husband couldn't even tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
These were ok. I have to admit that I didn't take the onions out, they had been cooked so long that I figured it wouldn't make a difference, but my beans turned out a bit sweet. Hmmmm. Next time I will make sure and remove them to see if there is a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I made these today and they were excellent. I did leave the tomato out and I cut the oil in half, but they were still fantastic. I also pureed the entire mixture. I will use it for a seven layer dip and to make quesadillas. I'm really excited to have a great recipe in my collection. I will use it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States