Vegetarian Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I never made refried beans before,wow did this come out great. The taste compared with my favorite beans at the local Mexican Resturant. Used some of the refried beans to make beef and bean enchilidas, great, my husband asked for more!!! I followed the recipe to the letter. It deserves *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
these were very tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I left out the tomato and it was great. I've made a crock pot version of refried beans before so experimented and left these cooking overnight on low on the stovetop (so I could go to sleep) and they turned out great - didn't burn and I didn't have to wait up! Fantastic find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
I like that you don't have to soak the beans overnight for this great tasting recipe. I used a can of Rotel tomatoes and of course, lots of salt. Taste, taste, taste until it is salted correctly. The beans were used to make tostadas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Tasty!!! I even used canned beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Great stuff! So flavourful. I made it with black beans, but otherwise followed the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pacha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Very easy to make while at home, just let simmer and go about your business. I cut my beans off at around 3 hours and they were fine, added some onions as well and were perfect with my spinich enchiladas! Only four stars because there wasn't anything too extra special about these beans, just home made and better for you than out of a can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoey alexis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I made these today and they were excellent. I did leave the tomato out and I cut the oil in half, but they were still fantastic. I also pureed the entire mixture. I will use it for a seven layer dip and to make quesadillas. I'm really excited to have a great recipe in my collection. I will use it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
These were ok. I have to admit that I didn't take the onions out, they had been cooked so long that I figured it wouldn't make a difference, but my beans turned out a bit sweet. Hmmmm. Next time I will make sure and remove them to see if there is a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Very good consistency...just like other recipes with a lot of lard/animal fat! My husband couldn't even tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States