Vegetarian Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I did not have pinto beans so I used canned black beans and it came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Potomac, Maryland, USA
Living In: Teaneck, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Quick & cheap recipe, we don't buy canned beans anymore. I add a small can of diced green chilis & it lends a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Very good as written. It's easy to vary the taste according to your personal preference. I personally like more cumin, onion and garlic in mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Delicious! Easy! Healthy! Next time I'll double the batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
tasty, simple, healthy, and inexpensive. just what i'm looking for in a recipe. i don't have a food processor, so i used a potato masher - it worked pretty well, yeilding a very thick mixture. i served this in some corn tortillas (thus yielding a complete protein in a vegetarian meal). a very nice variation on the pinto bean, which i eat a lot of as a poor grad student!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I used canned pintos so I could skip 3 hrs and 45 minutes of cook-down time. Turned out good, but slightly too spicy for this gringo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
These are so easy, and my family loves them. To spice them up a bit, I add a good sprinkling of kosher salt early on, and also a small can of diced mild green chiles. I use nowhere near the amount of garlic called for. I use about 1/4 teaspoon. Thanks for the easy, easy, yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brawley, California, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I loved this recipe!!! It was my first time making refried beans and they came out sooo good!! cut down on cumin and chili powder; added onions and green pepper. Used this to make the seven layer taco dip (you can find the recipe at this site) and got rave reviwes!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
We thought these beans were just ok plain. They did however taste pretty good with taco meat and rice. There is a good chance we just dont like pinto beans. Will try again with another kind of bean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I never made refried beans before,wow did this come out great. The taste compared with my favorite beans at the local Mexican Resturant. Used some of the refried beans to make beef and bean enchilidas, great, my husband asked for more!!! I followed the recipe to the letter. It deserves *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States