Vegetarian Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This makes a lot!! I have never made homemade beans before and had fun with this. Next time I will cut the recipe since it is just my husband and I eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Love this recipe! I've switched it up a bit each time I've made these beans and they get better each time I make them!!! My family has requested no more cans of refried beans!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kj421

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
As is this recipe is a great base to start with but tasted to me like it needed something. Next time, I will try replacing the tomato with a cup of salsa for some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seymour, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Belchertown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This was the BEST bean recipe I found and tried on allrecipes! Incredible. I did however add about 1 tbs. more garlic, 1/4 chopped onion, and I when it says "cover 2 inches water", I actually used half water, half chicken broth er so. MAKE THESE BEANS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I will never buy refried beans again!This was so easy. I cooked them in my crock pot on low all day and blended them with my hand mixer. I did add some extra spices. They were very tasty. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLEO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Its smells great, but I added onion does that sound good? :) Great simple recipe I had everything on hand. We are gonna make lunch burritos and freeze them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This recipe was great!!! this was my first time making beans like this and i was shocked at how wonderfull it came out. I followed the instructions exactly but i added a few more ingediants. I added a full onion cut in half a full tomato and a couple cloves of garlic oh and some cilantro leaves. They veggied basically disinigrate and just become part of the water mmmmmmmm it was so goood> these beans have so much flavor you dont even need to refry them!!! dont forget to add salt though. Salt is key. Always taste your water until its at the point you want it!! Also flavor takes time to come to its full effect so dont be dissapointed if taste it the first five minutes after you incorperated everything and dont love it trust be IT GETS SOOO GOOOOD!! in time.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This is really good! And very easy. The only reason I'm not giving it a 5 is that the taste was a little off until I added some taco seasoning (recipe also from this site). After that, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This was simply wonderful. We usually buy the canned Rosarita refried beans, but no more. I made these yesterday and had bean burritos for dinner last night. It was quick, cheap and very filling. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I don't like refried beans but my husband loves them. He wanted me to make him some so I tried this recipe. I am so glad I did, I now love refried beans as long as I make this recipe. I did it a little different because I needed some beans for something else so I soaked my beans overnight then I drained the water and when I was ready to make supper I cooked my beans with the cumin and chili powder for about 1 hour to 1 hour and 30 minutes. When they were almost done (tender) then I put in the tomatoes and garlic and finished cooking them. When the beans cooled I put them in a food procesor with the remaining garlic, oil and salt. I also used the cooking water for my desired consistancy!! Which is creamier than in the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kewaunee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States