Vegetarian Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
very good, but I think the cumin maybe a little much, this was easy but not sure if I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I put the dried beans in a pressure cooker to speed up time and use less energy. I soaked 2 cups dried beans overnight and processed in the cooker for 6 minutes the next day. I then drained the water and added the rest of the ingredients to the beans. I used a potato masher, but should have used a food processor for a smoother consistency. Then I added one cup of the juice/water left over from the cooker and let everything simmer for about 30 minutes. It was okay, but I thought it lacked something. Maybe it didn't taste right because I used the pressure cooker and didn't boil them for hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I didn't have time to cook the beans, so instead I used a can of refried beans and added some red peppers to the rest of the ingredients, and I must say that these beens were simply fantastic! I used them on top of the Authentic Huevos Rancheros recipe and it was so tasty! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sierrawr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This was my first time making refried beans. These were easy to make. I followed the recipe other then I used a can of diced tomatoes. Mine only took two hours to cook. I had to add a lot of extra water while cooking which decreased the taste from the chili powder and cumin. Hubby thought they were a bit bland tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Using pressure cooker -- for 4-5 whistles before letting it cool slightly, enough to open -- then 'refry' the beans with the spices cuts down the time by half. A can of diced tomato is a good substitute, too. My hubby and bro-in-law loved it. We put it under and on top of warm nacho, too, just like in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Excellent. We did make a few minor changes. We used 3 medium sized cans of Pinto Beans instead of dry beans and we added some dices onions.. Overall the recipe was superb and very easy when done with the canned beans !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allen Seidman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Fantastic! I used a can of diced tomatoes with zesty jalepenos instead of a fresh tomato and I left out the oil to healthify the recipe even more. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bella888

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I think I'm done buying store bought. I skipped the tomato b/c I didn't have one and, forgot to put the garlic in during the simmer, and didn't want the oil. Loved it none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Good. I can't have garlic, so subbed shallots instead. Beans that haven't soaked will be tough. Soak overnight and throw out that water. Replace with fresh water and continue with the recipe. Or bring beans to a boil. Let sit for an hour or two, then toss that water. Use fresh water and proceed with recipe. Or just use canned beans. Changing the water will take the toot out of the beans. Also, be sure not to add the salt until the beans are almost cooked through. If you add it early, the beans will be tough. If using canned beans, you won't need to add salt as there is plenty in the beans already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
this recipe, although time-consuming, was fantastic! the flavors worked well together. the only thing was it was a little to dry for my taste, not as creamy as expected. next time i will cook the beans longer and add a bit more oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States