Vegetarian Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I am tring to avoid canned food b/c of the chemicals in the, so I tried tihs recipe. It is so simple and yummy. I did have to add a lot of salt at the end, but all in all, a wonderful easy recipe. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Delicious. I put mine (dry beans) in the slow cooker all day and they come out devine. Thanks a lot for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabyDollPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Good recipe for refritos. Sadly the amount of time it takes to cook doesn't really justify making it from scratch vs. opening a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I made this in a crock pot (because I'm lazy), and it turned out great. I took a bunch to a Mexican-style potluck and it was gobbled up in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
What a way to enhance any Mexican dish. These taste so much better than any can of refried beans I have ever had. I put all the ingredients in a food processor. They came out a bit runny but when mixed with meat, perfect! Will always make. No cans for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Great beans. No more refried beans out of a can ever again. This recipe will be used for in our family for years ahead. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
OMIGOD! Awesome!! These are toooo good. I can't believe how a little tomato and garlic can give such a wonderful flavour. Better than my favourite restaurant. I followed the recipe exactly - just reduced the oil quantity a little. Thanks a lot for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
very good, but I think the cumin maybe a little much, this was easy but not sure if I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I put the dried beans in a pressure cooker to speed up time and use less energy. I soaked 2 cups dried beans overnight and processed in the cooker for 6 minutes the next day. I then drained the water and added the rest of the ingredients to the beans. I used a potato masher, but should have used a food processor for a smoother consistency. Then I added one cup of the juice/water left over from the cooker and let everything simmer for about 30 minutes. It was okay, but I thought it lacked something. Maybe it didn't taste right because I used the pressure cooker and didn't boil them for hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I didn't have time to cook the beans, so instead I used a can of refried beans and added some red peppers to the rest of the ingredients, and I must say that these beens were simply fantastic! I used them on top of the Authentic Huevos Rancheros recipe and it was so tasty! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sierrawr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States