Vegetarian Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Really good and really easy. I substitued Chicken broth for the water to cook the beans in. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This is great! Worked perfectly! What a great way to cook in a healthy, ethical and cheap way. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norm vandyke
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This recipe is delicious! :D I just wish there were more stars to add to this simple and wonder recipe! I did add some diced jalapeño as well, but that just because I like it spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norm vandyke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I thought there was way to many spices in this and didn't taste anything like what comes in the can. I will cut down on the cumin for sure next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Great recipe! I made it as written except no tomatoes. I guessed on the amount of beans (I had already been soaking them overnight when I found this recipe; oops!) so mine ended up pretty garlicky but very good. I took some out before putting through the blender and ate on brown rice pasta - really good, too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
The only downside to this recipe is the time required. Good flavor, but not so overpowering that you couldn't use the beans in a variety of dishes. If you do the quick-soak method, be warned that using 2 inches of water to cover after soaking will produce very runny beans. I forgot to adjust for that and had to cook them down longer at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Yum! I put mine in my slow cooker, and put about an inch and half of water over it, and let it go for about 7 hours on low. Couldn't have been simpler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Delicious! I also added a tablespoon of smoked paprika with the cumin and chili powder. My kids asked for thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
So much better than canned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Gray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This is an easy recipe for refried beans...I love it !! I've always used refried beans from the can...but no longer do after finding this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States