Vegetarian Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Instead of cooking the beans in water, I cooked them in organic chicken broth. I did not have extra tomatoes as all I had on hand was used for the Enchilada Casserole so I left it out. Even without the tomato, these turned out perfect. I'd like to try this with grated onion next time and saute the onion and garlic in the olive oil before mashing it into the beans. I think that would be a tasty addition to this recipe. Thanks, what's for dinner for a cheap and economical (nevermind tastier than the canned counterpart) side for tonight's Enchilada Casserole and mexican rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Excellent- shaved 3+ hours and a lot of energy with pressure cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Really good and really easy. I substitued Chicken broth for the water to cook the beans in. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This is great! Worked perfectly! What a great way to cook in a healthy, ethical and cheap way. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norm vandyke
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This recipe is delicious! :D I just wish there were more stars to add to this simple and wonder recipe! I did add some diced jalapeño as well, but that just because I like it spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norm vandyke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I thought there was way to many spices in this and didn't taste anything like what comes in the can. I will cut down on the cumin for sure next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Great recipe! I made it as written except no tomatoes. I guessed on the amount of beans (I had already been soaking them overnight when I found this recipe; oops!) so mine ended up pretty garlicky but very good. I took some out before putting through the blender and ate on brown rice pasta - really good, too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
The only downside to this recipe is the time required. Good flavor, but not so overpowering that you couldn't use the beans in a variety of dishes. If you do the quick-soak method, be warned that using 2 inches of water to cover after soaking will produce very runny beans. I forgot to adjust for that and had to cook them down longer at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Yum! I put mine in my slow cooker, and put about an inch and half of water over it, and let it go for about 7 hours on low. Couldn't have been simpler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Delicious! I also added a tablespoon of smoked paprika with the cumin and chili powder. My kids asked for thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States