Vegetarian Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
These were GREAT! I added the tomato, but didn't add the oil (actually, I forgot). Didn't seem to make any difference. Everyone gave these rave reviews - even my 5 year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
These beans were great! I didn't have much time, so I used canned beans and left out the salt since canned beans are salty. I also added a little red pepper flakes for some heat. Very quick and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
I like that you don't have to soak the beans overnight for this great tasting recipe. I used a can of Rotel tomatoes and of course, lots of salt. Taste, taste, taste until it is salted correctly. The beans were used to make tostadas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
I have made this very basic recipe for cooking the beans, to make Refritos, for over 40 years, minus the tomato. You get creative with additional ingredients when you are actually cooking the Refritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
Wonderful refried beans! And healthy too! I did not add the tomato, otherwise I followed the recipe as it's written. Instead of mashing the beans, I pureed them in the blender to make them nice and smooth just like they are at our favorite Mexican restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Three Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
This recipe is great! I wouldn't change a thing. Just make sure you have an entire free evening to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Absolutely *loved* this recipe! I needed refried beans to make a 7-layer dip for a party and thought I'd try my hand at making my own beans for the dip. I omitted the cumin, added chopped green bell pepper (half a pepper) and handful of chopped green onions (only because I had them on hand) and it smelled wonderful while it was cooking! I had to drain some of the liquid before mashing them (or the consistency wouldn't be thick enough). I tried a bowl w/ some shredded cheese on top and it was *yummy*! I'm sure it'll add special flavor to the Mexican 7-layer dip and taste better than canned beans. It is a very simple recipe; just a bit time consuming as it has to simmer a while but if you're home anyway, it's no big deal. Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Linz, Oberösterreich, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Very good consistency...just like other recipes with a lot of lard/animal fat! My husband couldn't even tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Great stuff! So flavourful. I made it with black beans, but otherwise followed the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pacha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Tasty!!! I even used canned beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States