Vegetarian Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Tasted good- not as flavorful as i was hoping. I added some onion and omitted the olive oil-- i don't think it needs much oil if any at all after tasting it without any. Used a food processor instaed of mashing the beans for a smoother texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Pretty good basic recipe. I used a pressure cooker to cook the beans down (it cuts down on the cooking time by more than half the time!) and added more spice than what was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I did not have pinto beans so I used canned black beans and it came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Potomac, Maryland, USA
Living In: Teaneck, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Quick & cheap recipe, we don't buy canned beans anymore. I add a small can of diced green chilis & it lends a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Very good as written. It's easy to vary the taste according to your personal preference. I personally like more cumin, onion and garlic in mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Delicious! Easy! Healthy! Next time I'll double the batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
tasty, simple, healthy, and inexpensive. just what i'm looking for in a recipe. i don't have a food processor, so i used a potato masher - it worked pretty well, yeilding a very thick mixture. i served this in some corn tortillas (thus yielding a complete protein in a vegetarian meal). a very nice variation on the pinto bean, which i eat a lot of as a poor grad student!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I used canned pintos so I could skip 3 hrs and 45 minutes of cook-down time. Turned out good, but slightly too spicy for this gringo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
These are so easy, and my family loves them. To spice them up a bit, I add a good sprinkling of kosher salt early on, and also a small can of diced mild green chiles. I use nowhere near the amount of garlic called for. I use about 1/4 teaspoon. Thanks for the easy, easy, yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brawley, California, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I loved this recipe!!! It was my first time making refried beans and they came out sooo good!! cut down on cumin and chili powder; added onions and green pepper. Used this to make the seven layer taco dip (you can find the recipe at this site) and got rave reviwes!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain

Displaying results 71-80 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States