Vegetarian Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This was my first time making refried beans. These were easy to make. I followed the recipe other then I used a can of diced tomatoes. Mine only took two hours to cook. I had to add a lot of extra water while cooking which decreased the taste from the chili powder and cumin. Hubby thought they were a bit bland tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Using pressure cooker -- for 4-5 whistles before letting it cool slightly, enough to open -- then 'refry' the beans with the spices cuts down the time by half. A can of diced tomato is a good substitute, too. My hubby and bro-in-law loved it. We put it under and on top of warm nacho, too, just like in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Excellent. We did make a few minor changes. We used 3 medium sized cans of Pinto Beans instead of dry beans and we added some dices onions.. Overall the recipe was superb and very easy when done with the canned beans !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Fantastic! I used a can of diced tomatoes with zesty jalepenos instead of a fresh tomato and I left out the oil to healthify the recipe even more. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bella888

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I think I'm done buying store bought. I skipped the tomato b/c I didn't have one and, forgot to put the garlic in during the simmer, and didn't want the oil. Loved it none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Good. I can't have garlic, so subbed shallots instead. Beans that haven't soaked will be tough. Soak overnight and throw out that water. Replace with fresh water and continue with the recipe. Or bring beans to a boil. Let sit for an hour or two, then toss that water. Use fresh water and proceed with recipe. Or just use canned beans. Changing the water will take the toot out of the beans. Also, be sure not to add the salt until the beans are almost cooked through. If you add it early, the beans will be tough. If using canned beans, you won't need to add salt as there is plenty in the beans already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
this recipe, although time-consuming, was fantastic! the flavors worked well together. the only thing was it was a little to dry for my taste, not as creamy as expected. next time i will cook the beans longer and add a bit more oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This makes a lot!! I have never made homemade beans before and had fun with this. Next time I will cut the recipe since it is just my husband and I eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Love this recipe! I've switched it up a bit each time I've made these beans and they get better each time I make them!!! My family has requested no more cans of refried beans!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kj421

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
As is this recipe is a great base to start with but tasted to me like it needed something. Next time, I will try replacing the tomato with a cup of salsa for some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seymour, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Belchertown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States