Vegetarian Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Good minus the tomato. I like to make these using left over pinto bean soup. I am NOT a veggie only type person so I make my soup with pinto beans, ham, and seasoning salt in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuppycake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Pretty tasty & easy. I quartered the recipe to use just one can of beans, omitted the tomato and salt and used garlic powder because I didn't have time to chop anything. I added extra oil trying to get the right consistency...then I realized it said to add water :P I did and it looked perfect, but by the time we were ready to eat they had dried out a bit. So next time I'll watch more closely and add more water. But good flavor! They'll go with anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I did a few things differently, but they turned out pretty good. I omitted the tomato, put in just a little bit more garlic, and used half water and half chicken broth for flavour. I also made mexican rice with this, so when I was adding liquid to achieve the consistency, I used some of the juice from the diced tomatoes I used in the rice. Overall a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilskittle7

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Amazing, I used a dollop of vegetable bullion paste I had but otherwise I stuck to the recipe and they were the best beans I've ever had, even got rave reviews from my Mexican father-in-law!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaylee88

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Really tasty... make sure to soak beans overnight and allow plenty of time to cook or you'll have little crunchy bits :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
No more canned beans for us. I freeze this in small batches and pull some out for taco nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I will never buy a can of refried beans again!! This was delicious!! It does take a while to make, and you really have to keep an eye on it toward the end, but it's so worth it!!! I think next time I'm gonna add fresh diced jalapeno when I add the tomato! yummmmmy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
After all of the raving reviews, I was really surprised on this one. I ran them through a food processor and they were really bitter and unpleasant tasting. I added a lot of salt, chicken broth, and cheese and it made them okay. I will never make these again. Not worth the 4+ hours of effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
These were ok. A little lacking in flavor. I was disappointed as I really wanted them to be a hit. I followed the recipe. Next time I will try a different one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States