Vegetarian Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
my kids love this I use cans of black beans instead of pinto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
My Wife and I had this last night along with homemade Spanish rice, tostadas (with guacamole, lettuce, salsa and freshly boiled [and shredded] chicken) and it was just out of this world good. We were so full that we couldn't do anything else but sit on the couch and watch a movie. Great recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn & Kenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Thank you for this recipe. It is similar to the recipe on the bag of beans, but better. The only thing I did different was to soak the beans overnight to reduce the initial cooking time and I stirred in some canned enchilada sauce for extra saucy-ness because I took these to a Mexi-style potluck and I didn't want these to dry out in the crockpot. Shredded cheddar cheese served on the side. Yumm, they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Once you try this, you'll never want to go back to canned beans. So basic, yet so flavorful and healthy. I made this for a Nacho Sale fundraiser, and even though I had more then my counterpart, who made his with fat, I ran out. I got a lot of compliments. The only thing I did different then this recipe was that I sauteed some onions with the garlic, and after the beans softened up, I blended them a little before the last 30 minutes of cooking. I didn't blend them to the point of being mushy, but to where the beans were in small pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Added pepper. Too much cumin for me so added A third can of beans and more tomato yo tone it down. Liked it at that point
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Original recipe is great as a base recipe. From the original you can explore different ingredients and get a feel for what you want. I read a bunch of comments and adjusted some things... I made one pound of kidney beans an one pound of pinto beans. Half chicken broth. Halved garlic, cumin and chili powder - forgot to add olive oil. Added half a jalapeno (Diced) , some salsa and blended half of the beans after realizing I would not be able to mash the whole thing with a wooden spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Good! I also added a diced onion to cook with the beans. When they were done cooking, I ran everything through my food processor and added about a cup of sour cream and a few Tbsp of taco seasoning (go Taco Bell!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Good minus the tomato. I like to make these using left over pinto bean soup. I am NOT a veggie only type person so I make my soup with pinto beans, ham, and seasoning salt in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuppycake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Pretty tasty & easy. I quartered the recipe to use just one can of beans, omitted the tomato and salt and used garlic powder because I didn't have time to chop anything. I added extra oil trying to get the right consistency...then I realized it said to add water :P I did and it looked perfect, but by the time we were ready to eat they had dried out a bit. So next time I'll watch more closely and add more water. But good flavor! They'll go with anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I did a few things differently, but they turned out pretty good. I omitted the tomato, put in just a little bit more garlic, and used half water and half chicken broth for flavour. I also made mexican rice with this, so when I was adding liquid to achieve the consistency, I used some of the juice from the diced tomatoes I used in the rice. Overall a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilskittle7

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States