Vegetarian Phad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
This is my recipe, but I got married and have a new log-in name! A few notes, based on other reviews and my subsequent experiences with the recipe: YES - follow package directions for the rice noodles ... when I created this recipe I was buying noodles from an Asian market and could not read the text on the package. You can actually even use linguini or fettuccini if you don't have access to rice noodles (not quite as good, but this is obviously an Americanized recipe anyway). You do not have to sautee the noodles before tossing them with the sauce -- I too have problems with them sticking to the pan and have pretty much just eliminated this step. Finally, when I have it on hand, I also substitute lime juice for the lemon, though lemon works just fine. A side of shredded cabbage and julienne carrots/cucumbers provides a refreshing break from what can be a heavy dish (especially with all that sauce - but I love it!). Hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roscoe, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
OK...too peanut-ty and lacked some depth. I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and reduced the peanut butter (I used smooth ground natural with no added salt/sugar) to 3/4 cup, and reduced the brown sugar to 1/2 cup but it was still too much. I also used 3 cloves of fresh garlic, pressed, chili paste instead of cayenne pepper, and lime juice instead of lemon. Here's some helpful hints that I will try the next time: don't cook peanut sauce too early...it goes from that nice smooth sauce to a gloppy, thick mess that doesn't want to stir through the noodles. Don't skimp on the oil when sauteing the noodles. I'd never made rice noodles before and mine ended up all clumped together (I didn't soak them for a full hour, either). Skip adding the extra peanuts. Julienne carrots instead of shredding to add some crunch. Maybe increase the lime juice, chili paste and add some fish sauce...give it a try! Thanks Sarah for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
This is easy and Absolutely Fabulous. My husband and I thought it was better than what we get at the Thai restaurants we frequent. I substituted curry paste for paprika to good effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
This was absolutely delicious. I soaked the noodles in water for a little over an hour. I didn't have peanut oil, but seasame oil worked just as well. I cooked the sauce in a large pot, and sauteed the vegetables in a large pan. The noodles were plenty soft and so I just added them to the sauce while I was cooking the vegetables. (I didn't have a wok) I added the veggies to the large pot and stirred everything up and served. Absolutely yummy the next day as leftovers too. Restaurant quality. I've also cut the recipe in half and used linguine noodles, which made it all come together really quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
I have found that Phad Thai is a tricky thing. To get a truly authentic taste, it is necessary to use authentic ingredients. However, I, for one, don't usually have all of these ingredients on hand. So, I've been looking for a recipe that closely approximates the flavors without requiring all of the traditional ingredients. This recipe comes the closest of any that I've tried. It was too sweet (and I only used 1 c. of sugar to begin with!) and I add a bit more lemon juice to give it that tang. Also, don't be skimpy with the cayenne; it takes at least 1/4 t. or more to get the right heat. I will definitely make this dish again and I'll probably keep tweaking it. One last thing--this recipe makes an absolutely enormous amount of sauce! We barely used half of it. But, it's a good leftover, too. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garberville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Wonderful! Just like the savory Seattle Phad Thai I used to get years ago (minus the tamarind, which I will add next time)!! A few caveats: I used a can of coconut milk in place of the 1 c. milk, and only about 1/3 c. brown sugar, despite using Adam's natural chunky PB which is not very sweet; I also used Asian chili sauce, not cayenne. For veggies I used 1 pkg firm tofu, snowpeas, onion greens and shredded cabbage. Everything came together so quickly and easily & angel hair pasta was just great with this; we'll be making this recipe again and again in the years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izaacotter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Noxon, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
My daughter and husband loved this dish. I did however, make some changes based on others' reviews. I lowerd the amount of peanut butter and sugar to 3/4c and used lime instead of lemon. Great dish! I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
I didn't think this recipe was that great. Submerging the noodles in hot water for 1 hour was WAY too long. The noodles turned out way to soft. I did cut the brown sugar and peanut butter in half like the other reviewers suggested and I thought the sauce was very good. Not sure that I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Amazing! Added a bit of Tofu with the egg. Make sure to get the fresh lime, its worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I can not possibly serve this to my family. I might as well add jelly to create a new recipe called peanut butter and jelly noodles. I'm sorry but this was terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States