Vegetarian Phad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
This is easy and Absolutely Fabulous. My husband and I thought it was better than what we get at the Thai restaurants we frequent. I substituted curry paste for paprika to good effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This recipe tastes very authentic! I like that it is completely vegetarian and still tastes like it came from the best Thai restaurant. It is also very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
I have found that Phad Thai is a tricky thing. To get a truly authentic taste, it is necessary to use authentic ingredients. However, I, for one, don't usually have all of these ingredients on hand. So, I've been looking for a recipe that closely approximates the flavors without requiring all of the traditional ingredients. This recipe comes the closest of any that I've tried. It was too sweet (and I only used 1 c. of sugar to begin with!) and I add a bit more lemon juice to give it that tang. Also, don't be skimpy with the cayenne; it takes at least 1/4 t. or more to get the right heat. I will definitely make this dish again and I'll probably keep tweaking it. One last thing--this recipe makes an absolutely enormous amount of sauce! We barely used half of it. But, it's a good leftover, too. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garberville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
A little too peanut-y for our tastes, but we still enjoyed it. I think I might try it again with a little less peanut butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
This recipe ROCKS! I have tried so many times to make this dish, with bad results, but this recipe was a perfest reproduction. Advice: Unless 6 or 7 people are eating, cut it in 1/2, I also put corn and broccoli in it and used crunchy peanutbutter with excellent results! You cannot screw this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
A very flavourful dish...much enjoyed by my husband and myself. However, although I omitted the cayenne pepper because of my kids (2 & 1)they still thought I was trying to posison them and wouldn't touch the noodles (which they ordinairly love). I don't know what there problem was but something to consider if you have young children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
My daughter and husband loved this dish. I did however, make some changes based on others' reviews. I lowerd the amount of peanut butter and sugar to 3/4c and used lime instead of lemon. Great dish! I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
I didn't think this recipe was that great. Submerging the noodles in hot water for 1 hour was WAY too long. The noodles turned out way to soft. I did cut the brown sugar and peanut butter in half like the other reviewers suggested and I thought the sauce was very good. Not sure that I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
I'm sorry, but this turned out pretty badly. I followed the recipe, plus a couple of suggestions to cut down the peanut butter, and I still found that this came out very glutenous and sticky and way too sweet! I feel cheated that I wasted my money on the ingredients plus wasted the ingredients themselves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIERRAMUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
Very peanuty and a little too much lemon juice. But it definatly got eaten. I used "natural" creamy peanut butter and got absolutly perfect peanut sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States