Vegetarian Phad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
I didn't think this recipe was that great. Submerging the noodles in hot water for 1 hour was WAY too long. The noodles turned out way to soft. I did cut the brown sugar and peanut butter in half like the other reviewers suggested and I thought the sauce was very good. Not sure that I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
My daughter and husband loved this dish. I did however, make some changes based on others' reviews. I lowerd the amount of peanut butter and sugar to 3/4c and used lime instead of lemon. Great dish! I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
A very flavourful dish...much enjoyed by my husband and myself. However, although I omitted the cayenne pepper because of my kids (2 & 1)they still thought I was trying to posison them and wouldn't touch the noodles (which they ordinairly love). I don't know what there problem was but something to consider if you have young children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
This recipe ROCKS! I have tried so many times to make this dish, with bad results, but this recipe was a perfest reproduction. Advice: Unless 6 or 7 people are eating, cut it in 1/2, I also put corn and broccoli in it and used crunchy peanutbutter with excellent results! You cannot screw this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
A little too peanut-y for our tastes, but we still enjoyed it. I think I might try it again with a little less peanut butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
I have found that Phad Thai is a tricky thing. To get a truly authentic taste, it is necessary to use authentic ingredients. However, I, for one, don't usually have all of these ingredients on hand. So, I've been looking for a recipe that closely approximates the flavors without requiring all of the traditional ingredients. This recipe comes the closest of any that I've tried. It was too sweet (and I only used 1 c. of sugar to begin with!) and I add a bit more lemon juice to give it that tang. Also, don't be skimpy with the cayenne; it takes at least 1/4 t. or more to get the right heat. I will definitely make this dish again and I'll probably keep tweaking it. One last thing--this recipe makes an absolutely enormous amount of sauce! We barely used half of it. But, it's a good leftover, too. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garberville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This recipe tastes very authentic! I like that it is completely vegetarian and still tastes like it came from the best Thai restaurant. It is also very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
This is easy and Absolutely Fabulous. My husband and I thought it was better than what we get at the Thai restaurants we frequent. I substituted curry paste for paprika to good effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-68 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States