Vegetarian Phad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
This was absolutely delicious. I soaked the noodles in water for a little over an hour. I didn't have peanut oil, but seasame oil worked just as well. I cooked the sauce in a large pot, and sauteed the vegetables in a large pan. The noodles were plenty soft and so I just added them to the sauce while I was cooking the vegetables. (I didn't have a wok) I added the veggies to the large pot and stirred everything up and served. Absolutely yummy the next day as leftovers too. Restaurant quality. I've also cut the recipe in half and used linguine noodles, which made it all come together really quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
This came out so delicious. It was just like what you get at a Thai restaurant, and it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
This is my recipe, but I got married and have a new log-in name! A few notes, based on other reviews and my subsequent experiences with the recipe: YES - follow package directions for the rice noodles ... when I created this recipe I was buying noodles from an Asian market and could not read the text on the package. You can actually even use linguini or fettuccini if you don't have access to rice noodles (not quite as good, but this is obviously an Americanized recipe anyway). You do not have to sautee the noodles before tossing them with the sauce -- I too have problems with them sticking to the pan and have pretty much just eliminated this step. Finally, when I have it on hand, I also substitute lime juice for the lemon, though lemon works just fine. A side of shredded cabbage and julienne carrots/cucumbers provides a refreshing break from what can be a heavy dish (especially with all that sauce - but I love it!). Hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roscoe, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
I wish I had read the other reviews before I tried this recipe. The sauce came out way too sweet & goopy. My noodles stuck to the bottom of the pan and then never did fully cook. When I tried to mix the sauce and the noodles, the sauce was so thick that I could barely stir it. My roommate, in an attempt to help, poured some water into it thus turning the dish into Pad Thai Soup. It ended up being quite a disaster and barely edible. I do think that it has potential and may make it again but with a bit of modifications based on the other reviews here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Frostburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
Great recipe. Big hit with roomies, especially the peanut sauce. Keep some aside for those who like extra on the side. Follow instructions that come with the rice noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
Well I'm not sure. This tasted JUST like the pad thai at a restaurant I go to, and it was therefore very good. But it was a lot of work and really filling, you only need to eat a tiny bit. Then again it wasn't actually HARD or finicky, just time consuming. I would say make this when you have time, if you like pad thai, and don't eat much of anything during the day beforehand. The peanut sauce is very good and could be used for other dishes. Notes: Used 1 cup brown sugar, which was plenty with regular peanut butter (i.e. sweetened); used plain old bean sprouts, have no idea what "mung" bean sprouts are. It is not too spicy, follow the guide lines - 2 tablespoons sounds a lot but it MAKES a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
OK...too peanut-ty and lacked some depth. I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and reduced the peanut butter (I used smooth ground natural with no added salt/sugar) to 3/4 cup, and reduced the brown sugar to 1/2 cup but it was still too much. I also used 3 cloves of fresh garlic, pressed, chili paste instead of cayenne pepper, and lime juice instead of lemon. Here's some helpful hints that I will try the next time: don't cook peanut sauce too early...it goes from that nice smooth sauce to a gloppy, thick mess that doesn't want to stir through the noodles. Don't skimp on the oil when sauteing the noodles. I'd never made rice noodles before and mine ended up all clumped together (I didn't soak them for a full hour, either). Skip adding the extra peanuts. Julienne carrots instead of shredding to add some crunch. Maybe increase the lime juice, chili paste and add some fish sauce...give it a try! Thanks Sarah for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
I made this once at home and my boyfriend and I loved it. I tried to make it again for a large group but I think I mucked it up somewhere cause the sauce was way too runny... but if done right it tastes like the closest thing to the Phad Thai at my favourite authentic Thai restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
Very peanuty and a little too much lemon juice. But it definatly got eaten. I used "natural" creamy peanut butter and got absolutly perfect peanut sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
I'm sorry, but this turned out pretty badly. I followed the recipe, plus a couple of suggestions to cut down the peanut butter, and I still found that this came out very glutenous and sticky and way too sweet! I feel cheated that I wasted my money on the ingredients plus wasted the ingredients themselves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIERRAMUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States