Vegetarian Phad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Way, way too much sauce and too sweet. I think it might be good if you halved the sauce and then halved the peanut butter and sugar again and added salt and more soy sauce. I would cook the noodles half way and then pan fry them till they are done. This way the noodles will not be too mushy. I might make again to see if it can be good. Good luck, but do not follow the recipe “as is” you will be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
I have made this several times, and love it. I prefer the flat rice noodle sticks, cut peanut butter to one scant cup, also cut the brown sugar to 3/4 cup, lemon juice to 1/4 cup. I like it spicy to use quite a bit of cheyenne pepper and also serve cilantro with the lime wedges for added garnich. As another reviewer suggested the sauce could be cut in half and still be wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quiggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Delicious! If you're not vegetarian, and are looking for a little more meat, I added a package of mini frozen shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This was delicious. As previous reviewers suggestes, I used about half the brown sugar and only about 1/2 cup peanut butter. I love cilantro so I added some as well as about two tablespoons of sesame oil. I made this for a dinner party and everyone LOVED it. I'll make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Excellent recipe and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Morrison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
I just tried this and am eating it as I type, and it's excellent. It is definitely a little sweeter than the pad thai I've tried in restaurants in the US but as a sweet tooth I like that! I think I went a little heavy on the cayenne pepper though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
i've made this recipe many times for dinner now. i mostly use it for the sauce component, but it's so yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
Excellent. Do NOT overcook the noodles, or they turn to mush. Found this out the hard way :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
I thought it was a little too rich, but my husband loved it. Next time I'll cut down the amount of peanut butter a little in favor of peanuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
This was ok but not as good as I'd hoped. I soaked the noodles for about 20 mins as the packet instructed, and they turned out fine. The peanut sauce was quite tasty but very very thick. I kept adding half-and-half until it was the right consistency. Husband's verdict was 'nice but weird.' I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States