Vegetarian Phad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
My husband LOVED this dish! I took others advice and modified the peanut butter and sugar. I used 1 cup of peanut butter and 3/4 cup of brown sugar. I wanted more veggies so I added mushrooms and bok choy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Way too sweet, should have modified it. Way too much peanut butter and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This is one of my favorite recipes. I have made it several times at the request of friends. Go easy on the cayenne, most people don't like it. Also, use 1/3 less peanut butter than suggested or it will be too overbearing. I always end up putting in a little extra water so it doesn't get too thick and clumpy and alot of extra lime juice. I didn't have peanut oil so I used half veg. half sesame oil. Only used 1 c. brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This was OK, but like many other reviewers I would say to cut WAY down on the peanut butter and cut back on the brown sugar. It was overwhelmingly peanut-y and a bit sweet for my tastes. Also, I say save the raw chopped/ground peanuts to sprinkle on top at the end. Otherwise would be good with a bit of tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Great recipe - one of the best Thai recipes I've ever had. Just as another reviewer recommended, I also substituted curry paste for paprika - it was delicious. The next time I make this I might try reducing the amount of peanut butter to lighten the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I made a half recipe and that was perfect for four. I didn't find there was too much sauce. I did substitute agave syrup for the brown sugar (lower glycemic index). I found it rather bland though. Maybe my peanut butter isn't as peanutty as others because I didn't find the peanut flavor over powering either. I jazzed it up a bit with a little ground ginger and some fish sauce but still didn't really ring my bell. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shef W

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Wonderful! Just like the savory Seattle Phad Thai I used to get years ago (minus the tamarind, which I will add next time)!! A few caveats: I used a can of coconut milk in place of the 1 c. milk, and only about 1/3 c. brown sugar, despite using Adam's natural chunky PB which is not very sweet; I also used Asian chili sauce, not cayenne. For veggies I used 1 pkg firm tofu, snowpeas, onion greens and shredded cabbage. Everything came together so quickly and easily & angel hair pasta was just great with this; we'll be making this recipe again and again in the years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izaacotter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Noxon, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Sorry, I was looking for a main dish, not a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndez

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Very good recipe! It has a very peanutty taste, so if you don't like peanuts, this is not the recipe for you. Delicious with fresh lime squeezed on top! I used sesame oil instead of peanut oil, as some reviewers suggested, because I was unable to find peanut oil at the store. I made a half recipe, and there was probably more sauce than was needed. When I make it next time, I think I'll use 1 1/2 times the noodles along with the amount of sauce that the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Sullivan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
very good but a bit too much peanut butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States