Vegetarian Phad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Way too sweet, should have modified it. Way too much peanut butter and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This is one of my favorite recipes. I have made it several times at the request of friends. Go easy on the cayenne, most people don't like it. Also, use 1/3 less peanut butter than suggested or it will be too overbearing. I always end up putting in a little extra water so it doesn't get too thick and clumpy and alot of extra lime juice. I didn't have peanut oil so I used half veg. half sesame oil. Only used 1 c. brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This was OK, but like many other reviewers I would say to cut WAY down on the peanut butter and cut back on the brown sugar. It was overwhelmingly peanut-y and a bit sweet for my tastes. Also, I say save the raw chopped/ground peanuts to sprinkle on top at the end. Otherwise would be good with a bit of tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Great recipe - one of the best Thai recipes I've ever had. Just as another reviewer recommended, I also substituted curry paste for paprika - it was delicious. The next time I make this I might try reducing the amount of peanut butter to lighten the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I made a half recipe and that was perfect for four. I didn't find there was too much sauce. I did substitute agave syrup for the brown sugar (lower glycemic index). I found it rather bland though. Maybe my peanut butter isn't as peanutty as others because I didn't find the peanut flavor over powering either. I jazzed it up a bit with a little ground ginger and some fish sauce but still didn't really ring my bell. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shef W

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Wonderful! Just like the savory Seattle Phad Thai I used to get years ago (minus the tamarind, which I will add next time)!! A few caveats: I used a can of coconut milk in place of the 1 c. milk, and only about 1/3 c. brown sugar, despite using Adam's natural chunky PB which is not very sweet; I also used Asian chili sauce, not cayenne. For veggies I used 1 pkg firm tofu, snowpeas, onion greens and shredded cabbage. Everything came together so quickly and easily & angel hair pasta was just great with this; we'll be making this recipe again and again in the years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izaacotter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Noxon, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Sorry, I was looking for a main dish, not a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndez

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Very good recipe! It has a very peanutty taste, so if you don't like peanuts, this is not the recipe for you. Delicious with fresh lime squeezed on top! I used sesame oil instead of peanut oil, as some reviewers suggested, because I was unable to find peanut oil at the store. I made a half recipe, and there was probably more sauce than was needed. When I make it next time, I think I'll use 1 1/2 times the noodles along with the amount of sauce that the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leenica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
very good but a bit too much peanut butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
Great! Although, I would use a little less peanut butter & sugar, a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States