Vegetarian Nori Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
This recipe is just EXCELLENT! It was my first time making any kind of sushi and I was very happy with the results. I am a vegan, so I substituted brown rice syrup for the honey and I also used short-grain brown rice. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
Pretty good. But please, don't rinse your rice! Sushi rice is supposed to be sticky! That's like a Japanese person recommending that you leave the baking powder out of your biscuits, so "they're not too fluffy" !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
There are soy sushi wrappers available for people who don't like the taste of nori. You can find them in asian stores sometimes and online (amazon.com has some).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
It just wasn't for me. My husband said if I had ever tried and liked real sushi I would have liked it, he thought it was good and authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MENMYTEDDY13

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
To the person who said not to wash your rice: Japanese always wash their rice (multiple times) as sushi rice is not supposed to be "sticky" but holds together just enough for preparing the recipe. Also, real sushi rice is a mixture of rice combined with seasoned rice vinegar before it is spread over the nori which gives it it's consistency for sushi. This is OK for an "Americanized" version of sushi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
VERY nice! I had a Japanese treat right at home and this gave me the courage to try other veggies as well! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustDMarine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This was my first time making and eating nori rolls...it was a lot of fun! But, I've found I'm not too keen on nori. That aside, I think anyone enjoying nori would like this recipe. Although the rice vinegar also seemed a little strong. I might suggest the newbie forego the rice vinegar for the first bite. Fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
perfect recipe to get me over my fear of making sushi! colourful, flavourful and easy. looks beautiful too. made with crabmeat and tamari sauce. PLEASE dont forget to serve with pickled ginger! tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Great dish. I had a hard time getting the seaweed to stick together but other than that it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

How To Make Sushi Rolls

Find out how to make fresh, delicious sushi rolls.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States