Vegetarian Nori Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
This recipe is just EXCELLENT! It was my first time making any kind of sushi and I was very happy with the results. I am a vegan, so I substituted brown rice syrup for the honey and I also used short-grain brown rice. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
Maybe I'm just not a sushi person, but I couldn't stand this recipe. The nori rolled well and the tofu marinade was tasty, but other than that, I had to throw out the entire batch. The rice was too sticky and sour, and my house smelled like fish for days. Don't be discouraged by my review though, maybe if you like sushi, you'll like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
I've made sushi a couple of times before. I've always rinsed the rice until the water runs clear, then made it in a rice pot. When the rice is rinsed well, it's not so sticky. Other than that, this recipe works well. You can substitute imitation crab for the tofu too. My daughter and I love it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
Pretty good. But please, don't rinse your rice! Sushi rice is supposed to be sticky! That's like a Japanese person recommending that you leave the baking powder out of your biscuits, so "they're not too fluffy" !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
perfect recipe to get me over my fear of making sushi! colourful, flavourful and easy. looks beautiful too. made with crabmeat and tamari sauce. PLEASE dont forget to serve with pickled ginger! tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
It just wasn't for me. My husband said if I had ever tried and liked real sushi I would have liked it, he thought it was good and authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MENMYTEDDY13

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
These were great! My first time making sushi and they were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hklinger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This was my first time making and eating nori rolls...it was a lot of fun! But, I've found I'm not too keen on nori. That aside, I think anyone enjoying nori would like this recipe. Although the rice vinegar also seemed a little strong. I might suggest the newbie forego the rice vinegar for the first bite. Fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Pretty freaking awesome. It took me a while to figure out how to roll sushi, because I've never made it before and had no clue, but after googling it it worked rather well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mica Jade

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Leonard, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I'm giving the a 5 b/c I think it tasted good for sushi (I personally am so-so on sushi but don't think it deserves a lower rating b/c of personal preference). I had trouble keeping it together once I made it, but in general thought it was easy to initially assemble. I like all of the fresh and healthy ingredients that go into it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

How To Make Sushi Rolls

Find out how to make fresh, delicious sushi rolls.

Making California Rolls

Learn how to make delicious California sushi rolls at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States