Vegetarian Mushroom-Walnut Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
It had an interesting nutty flavor but had a crunch texture and was too bland for my taste. I will probably not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Haussler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This was very good, though extremely dense. Also, as I did not have my food processor there was a lot of chopping, so plan accordingly. I added a small carrot grated, and think I will add 2 small carrots next time. Used vegetarian worcestershire and rolled oats. I am also going to crumble some of it and try it as a taco filling. Seems like a very flexible recipe. Also will see how it freezes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This was great, but I'm glad a previous reviewer mentioned that worcestershire has anchovies. I checked the bottle in my fridge, and sure enough, not vegetarian. I seasoned the mix with soy sauce instead. I also didn't have any wheat germ or oat bran handy, so I substituted rolled oats for both. Turned out great and was less expensive that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMichal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This is really good,I did change a few things. I left out the package of onion soup as all the ones at the store were either NOT Vegetarian or they had MSG in them. Also I used Vegetarian Worcestershire sauce. I added onion powder,garlic powder,black pepper and 1/4 cup of whole wheat flour. It's a keeper! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This is good but be aware that Worcestershire sauce is tradionally made from anchovies and therefore NOT vegetarian... some may not care, but I believe there are veggie worchestershire sauces out there too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I added shredded carrots and more Worcestershire sauce, but I really liked this recipe. My husband was less impressed, but he ate it for dinner. Oh well, more leftovers for me! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I loved this tasty treat. Even my husband, the meat lover, had seconds and even ate leftovers. This has never happened before with the veggie meals I make. Thank you so much for the delish dish! :-) Kayti
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melrose, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This is definitely a great recipe! I made it almost to the letter, other than I had only Shitake mushrooms on hand. It turned out really yummy... there are a few mods I would do next time: cook the rice in broth, only add 1/2 cup of wheat germ and instead 1.5 cups of oat bran. Wheat germ is rather bitter. Also I am thinking of maybe incorporating some brown sugar into the loaf as well. I served it with the brown sugar glaze on top. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
My boyfriend and I were happily surprised (we are NOT vegetarians). I did some changes, though. It calls for a crazy amount of rice. I used maybe a cup of cooked rice. AND it doesn't tell you when to add the rice. I blended everything but the rice in my food processor. Then I mixed the rice by hand in a bowl. Also, I used one whole egg and one egg white. I served it on top of mashed potatoes, topped it with onion gravy and french fried onions and mushrooms. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States