Vegetarian Mushroom-Walnut Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2015
I enjoyed the flavor for the most part, but it did not hold together for me. It came out of the loaf pan in one nice piece, but when I attempted to make slices it simply crumbled. I did use one whole egg instead of two whites, and used wheat bran instead of oat. Perhaps that made the difference so I won't let that texture problem affect my rating. I may try again with a second egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Great recipe! I made it vegan by simply subbing soy sauce and using 2 flax eggs (1 tablespoon ground flax seed to 2 1/2 tablespoons water) each. It was delicious! Oh, and I didn't have wheat germ so I subbed ground oatmeal, also added minced carrots. Thanks for this keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Trying to eat less meat and tried this recipe. I don't really care for mushrooms but I decided to be a little adventureous. I use 2 portabello mushrooms, used onion powder instead of the soup mix, regular yellow mustard was all I had and threw in some flaxseed since I didn't have wheatgerm or bran. I've made it twice and it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
AMAZING! The only thing I changed was to omit the Worchesershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 7u3sday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fatsilas
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This is a great recipe although I made several changes. I didn't have oat bran, wheat germ, or onion soup mix so I used onion powder and I ground up some whole oatmeal and used that in place of the oat bran. I used whole eggs instead of just the whites. I didn't use Worcestershire sauce. I also baked it for 45 minutes then slathered a layer of ketchup on top and baked it for another 15 minutes. It's a very flexible recipe, I've made it a few times and it always comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I made a wine-based gravy to go with it, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I have to say this recipe was delicicious..We are not vegetarians but we are tryingt to eliminate as much meat as possible from our diets and recipes like this make it so much easier...try it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I was so excited to try this recipe! I did choose to make it gluten-free, opting for cooked quinoa in exchange for wheat germ. It held together extremely well, I may even try it in muffin tins as I do with regular meatloaf the second time around. And the texture was spot on! Next time I might also try to roast the red peppers and toast the walnuts to enhance their flavors as well as skip the sage and lessen the amount of onion soup mix used...all just personal preferences. Thanks Penny P. for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
My hubby and I loved it!! I added 3 cloves garlic and both whole eggs. Also I didn't use onion soup, I just added a bunch of season,very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Poole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I found this recipe DELICIOUS, but I must point out that Worcestershire sauce is not vegetarian-friendly because it is made with anchovies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States