Vegetarian Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This is going in the 'keeper' file! My 13 yo ds had 3 huge servings! I made a few minor changes. Left out the lentils. (I didn't have canned and didn't plan enough time to use dry.) Used ACV instead of white vinegar. Fresh tomatoes and oregano. Cornstarch instead of flour to make it gluten free. And lastly, I used a 6 cheese Italian blend rather than just Parmesan. I usually create shortcuts, skipping steps. This time I did not and I'm glad. The results are definitely worth the extra steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I added an egg to the filling and skipped the egg from the bachamal sauce. Added some cinnamon and wine to the filling. Skipped the potatoes. Wow. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
8-10 servings? Are you kidding me?! 30 min prep time, are you kidding me?! Unless your veggies are mammoth there's no way this will make that many servings. That being said the end result was flavourful and family gave positive reviews. As many others have done I grilled (broiled) the veggies and found by the time they were slightly browned there were almost cooked so I knew they wouldn't have to be baked as long as recipe called for. I also cut my veggies, esp the eggplant and zucchini fairly thick as I wanted to be able to distinguish individual tastes and didn't want it too mushy. Basically I baked it for about 10 min while I was making the sauce, then added sauce and cooked till brown. The end result was nice and firm and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I substituted the potatoes for sliced pork chops. Not a big vegetarian fan so the meat was a great sub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Very tasty, when it was finally done. I have a few suggestions. 1) Instead of frying the veggies, roast (broil) them in the oven. This can be done in 2 five-minute sessions, doesn't get the vegetables all saturated with oil (much healthier), and is quicker. Just brush with olive oil, lay out on large roasting pan (with a rack is perfect) and brown. 2) two potatoes? I found the quantities in this recipe too imprecise - you have to have made it once to know how much of everything to use. But of course you can adjust quantities to suit your taste. 3) In step 5, you say "saute onion and garlic in reserved oil.." You could saute eggplant in 2 cups of olive oil and there will be none left over! 1 Tbsp. olive oil is only enough for step 5 alone. 4) A pinch of nutmeg isn't enough - more like a tsp. 5) In step 6, you say to layer the onions in with the potato, eggplant, zuccini and feta, but the onions have already been simmered in with the lentils and tomato. Were we supposed to take them out? Anyway - came out well, but required some tweaks and took a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Delicious recipe. Mushrooms would be a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
A WHOLE lot of work for a very mediocre meal. I'd honestly be happier with a frozen lasagna, which is what this sort of tastes like. Only less yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmicfuzz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Moussaka officionados around the table all agreed that this was the best moussaka ever. I added a tsp of cinnamon. A wonderful Thanksgiving main dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
SO SO Good!! My roommate and I made this tonight and it was absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Like others have said... Time consuming yes.... Worth it? Absolutely!!!! I'm wore out BUT Delish!!!! I would make this again! I wanted to add a photo to share all my hard work I put in to it but for some reason it won't let me add the photo. 2 thumbs up on this! Note: I couldn't find canned Lintols so I bought a bag of dried ones and boiled them. I also added more of all the veggies to have enough to spread in a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilsusieb
Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States