Vegetarian Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2001
MY WIFE SAID THAT THIS IS THE BEST DISH I HAVE MADE HER IN THE 6 YEARS WE HAVE BEEN MARRIED. THE RECIPE LOOKED EASY, BUT WITH A SIX MONTH BOY NEEDING MY ATTENTION IT WAS RATHER TAXING BROWNING ALL THE VEGGIES. FANTASTIC RESULTS. MEAT IS HIGHLY OVER-RATED.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
Great recipe! Very time consuming and labor intensive though. The nutmeg makes the dish, don't scrimp on nutmeg in the bechamel sauce. I also sprinkled nutmeg and cinnamon on top of the potatoes. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2001
oh my, this is probably one of the best things i have ever made. definitley time consuming, but oh so worth it. the flavor is just fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
Comes out excellent but takes a long time to make. Just to clarify matters, every time the word "Drain" is mentioned in steps 1-4, they really mean "Remove ingredients from skillet and place aside on a plate". Otherwise you will be mixing the ingredients all together and not browning them separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2002
THis is an amazing recipe! I prefer to omit the feta between layers and just put it on top...you can taste it better that way! I also add more potatoes, zucchini and lentils to fill up the 9x13 pan a bit better. I also grill the vegetables to avoid the use of oil. Smells delcious while cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
I was discouraged from trying this recipe for a long time by the amount of work involved and by my husband, who didn't think it sounded good. Well, he changed his mind after he tried it. He totally loved it, and said that it tasted like it had meat in it, and was just like the original. It took a lot of work, though. I browned the eggplant in the oven and the zucchini and potato in a skillet on the stove, and it went a bit faster that way. I think I could cut the time involved even further by slicing the zucchini and potatoes slightly thicker. Mine were paper-thin, and not only did that make for a lot of slices to brown, but also the zucchini became very soggy while some of the potatoes were too crisp. My only other complaint is that the moussaka was very liquidy, as others have mentioned. Next time I'm going to drain the lentils before adding them to the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2001
Absolutely delicious - worth all of the prep time (I wish the browning did not take so long). My family loved it. I used more feta, because I love the flavor that feta imparts, and I used more parmesan too. Bravo - thanks for posting this winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
This made such a filling delicious meal. I used the whole can of lentils and all the liquid instead. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2001
Terrific recipe but takes some time to prepare. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Deland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
Loved this. Absolutely delicious. I used dry lentils instead of canned, and canned diced tomatoes. I'll definitely be making this again. Even those who don't usually like eggplant and feta loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Skopje, Skopje, Macedonia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States